Fixing up my MEGA STE

Problems with your machine in general.
Bikerbob
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:23 pm

Hey all,

Looking for a hand on some stuff.

New to me Mega STE - couple of issues right off I want to fix.

I have one of the ram sockets with a broken retainer. Is it a single socket double? how to replace them?

I would like to put the FPU in. Is that just a matter of the chip and a jumper? I see matching chip # on ebay. Just wondering if I buy.

I am going to use the PP program to divide my rom image in 2 to burn on my willem.

Any suggestions? - OH I do want a PSU cap set.. maybe 2. I will order that on the store page.

James

User avatar
Icky
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Icky » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:07 am

Hi Bikerbob.

For the FPU it’s not as simple as just putting the chip in. You also need to add a GAL chip and there is either a jumper or if your MegaSTE is like mine an older one cutting off a resistor underneath the motherboard.

I found my GAL on eBay and I purchased the 68882 and 68881 as I wanted to try out both from Exxos’ store.

Here is a link to a blog guide http://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/mste_e.htm

You can fit either a 68881 or 68882. Some programs may not work with the 68882.

Edit:

Here is the official instructions from Atari http://www.atariworld.org/files/docs/C3 ... -REV-A.pdf

Bikerbob
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Bikerbob » Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:35 pm

Icky wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:07 am
Hi Bikerbob.

For the FPU it’s not as simple as just putting the chip in. You also need to add a GAL chip and there is either a jumper or if your MegaSTE is like mine an older one cutting off a resistor underneath the motherboard.

I found my GAL on eBay and I purchased the 68882 and 68881 as I wanted to try out both from Exxos’ store.

Here is a link to a blog guide http://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/mste_e.htm

You can fit either a 68881 or 68882. Some programs may not work with the 68882.

Edit:

Here is the official instructions from Atari http://www.atariworld.org/files/docs/C3 ... -REV-A.pdf
Thanks for the reply Icky, so the gal is like this? https://www.ebay.ca/itm/5PCS-IC-GAL16V8 ... Sw6EhUN1OR

what did you do? the 68881 or 2? they say the 8882 is improved? I am not going to be doing specific scientific work ;) so .. just looking for improved performance.

James

User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Maeke » Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:16 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:35 pm
Icky wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:07 am
Hi Bikerbob.

For the FPU it’s not as simple as just putting the chip in. You also need to add a GAL chip and there is either a jumper or if your MegaSTE is like mine an older one cutting off a resistor underneath the motherboard.

I found my GAL on eBay and I purchased the 68882 and 68881 as I wanted to try out both from Exxos’ store.

Here is a link to a blog guide http://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/mste_e.htm

You can fit either a 68881 or 68882. Some programs may not work with the 68882.

Edit:

Here is the official instructions from Atari http://www.atariworld.org/files/docs/C3 ... -REV-A.pdf
Thanks for the reply Icky, so the gal is like this? https://www.ebay.ca/itm/5PCS-IC-GAL16V8 ... Sw6EhUN1OR

what did you do? the 68881 or 2? they say the 8882 is improved? I am not going to be doing specific scientific work ;) so .. just looking for improved performance.

James
You can find preprogrammed gal on ebay, or complete kits. Can't give you a link sorry since i'll have only french links.
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.

Bikerbob
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Bikerbob » Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:52 pm

OK, so I will need a gal for the FPU,

There is a gal in the VME board I am buying.

I also think there are some Gal chips I need to program in an-8bit project im doing.

Do all these things use the same chip? or are there 20pin 24pin 28pin gal chips used?

BUT I dont think my Willem programmer does GAL chips.

James

Bikerbob
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:00 pm

Hope someone is reading.

I would like to get a co-procoessor and the GAL chip required. I can get the co-pro easy enough on ebay.

I am not finding any GAL chips there.

Is there other updates that would require GAL programming? I could buy a programmer, but think $50 for something I am going to do once seems silly.

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2908
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by exxos » Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:09 pm

I don't know about MSTE myself, but I can program a GAL if thats all you need. Though I would need the jed file..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Icky » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:55 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:09 pm
I don't know about MSTE myself, but I can program a GAL if thats all you need. Though I would need the jed file..
You will need PAL C301903

Dump flies can be found here http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=5040

Bikerbob
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:13 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:09 pm
I don't know about MSTE myself, but I can program a GAL if thats all you need. Though I would need the jed file..

Ok, so when do you think you will have more of https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107 in stock???

I will get one and the GAL programmed if I could. I already had the file, but Icky just linked to it as well.

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2908
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fixing up my MEGA STE

Post by exxos » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:16 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:13 pm
Ok, so when do you think you will have more of https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107 in stock???
I don't know, Urban isn't making anymore. He is doing a "exxos" revision so I can produce them.. as to when.. no idea.. probably couple of months time or so I guess. Though I may dish out some kits meanwhile as I just don't have any free time to assemble lots of stuff.
Bikerbob wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:13 pm
I will get one and the GAL programmed if I could. I already had the file, but Icky just linked to it as well.
Post the file here for easy to find and future reference..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply