Mouse only registers up and left

Problems with your machine in general.
curlypaul

Mouse only registers up and left

Post by curlypaul »

Hello, sorry to drop with a help request as my first post, but I'm an the end of my knowledge with this.

I've got a standard official mouse a problem, left and right both produce a left movement, and up and down only produces an up movement.

I've reflowed the port, and checked that I have continuity on each pin, went from the next nearest points on the pcb to be sure.

I'm new to the ST, so I dont have much in the way of alternative parts, but I do have a beaten up joystick that I was able to see down and right movement from when in the mouse port.

Replaced both the caps in the mouse, and gave it an ipa bath, as well as scrubbed the rollers and blown all the dust out of the optic wheels. It's barely been used in its life, so didnt seem worth risking breaking the ball housing trying to remove the wheels as it was pretty clean to start with.

I've got a multimeter, a basic knowledge, and a will to learn :) would anybody be able to help with where to look next please?
PhilC

Re: Mouse only registers up and left

Post by PhilC »

It may be that the optical sensors are slightly out of line, so try adjusting them, ie bending a little one way or the other.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by exxos »

Bad mouse cable ? Pretty common fault..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
russellnash

Post by russellnash »

Here is a page that might help you.

Mouse pinouts
Mouse pinouts