Atari STE Power Up

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15033
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:05 am

friijy2001 wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 10:40 am
Another screen over RGB scart just to add to the library :)
This is static but sometimes it rolls
So that TV works fine all the time other than the rolling ?
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

friijy2001
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by friijy2001 » Fri Jun 11, 2021 12:59 pm

exxos wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:05 am
friijy2001 wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 10:40 am
Another screen over RGB scart just to add to the library :)
This is static but sometimes it rolls
So that TV works fine all the time other than the rolling ?
That’s just one screen shot, it sometimes goes black and says no signal, sometimes it’s fine.

It works fine on other st’s
Call me Stephen :)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15033
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:11 pm

What PSU u got in there ?
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

tzok
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by tzok » Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:23 pm

I had similar issues with Toshiba LCD TV, and a SCART cable, which was making RGB switching voltage from the V-Sync, using a diode and a capacitor.

friijy2001
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by friijy2001 » Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:23 pm

exxos wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:11 pm
What PSU u got in there ?
Have tried it with a phisong (not sure if that’s the correct spelling) and also a mitsumi
Call me Stephen :)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15033
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:25 pm

friijy2001 wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:23 pm
Have tried it with a phisong (not sure if that’s the correct spelling) and also a mitsumi
If you have a SR98, you can try upping the 5V to maybe 5.5V (for a short time) just to see if it helps or not. Just be voltages on that particular machine or just marginally too low for your monitor to be happy.. So upping the 5 V may or may not give a indication for that problem..
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

friijy2001
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by friijy2001 » Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:22 pm

I'll try the chip under the PSU first and see where that gets me after work, I'll report back and see where we are then.
Call me Stephen :)

friijy2001
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by friijy2001 » Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:04 pm

OK a quick update,
  • I did the reset switch fix and no change
  • I pulled the chip from under the PSU out, luckily I have a donor chip so replaced it and it has seemed to be working...
The old chip

IMG_6412.JPG
IMG_6412.JPG (375.82 KiB) Viewed 54 times
C300588-001 Atari 1988

New chip from the donor board - C301712 Atari 1990

IMG_6416.JPG
IMG_6416.JPG (527.34 KiB) Viewed 54 times

Running without the shielding and case it seems to work fine after numerous reset's and power off/on

IMG_6413.JPG
IMG_6413.JPG (419.73 KiB) Viewed 54 times
IMG_6414.JPG
IMG_6414.JPG (503.59 KiB) Viewed 54 times
IMG_6411.JPG
IMG_6411.JPG (338.91 KiB) Viewed 54 times

I will pop the case back together and continue testing :)
Call me Stephen :)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15033
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:12 pm

friijy2001 wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:04 pm
I will pop the case back together and continue testing :)
I guess it would be interesting if you put the old chip back in to see if the fault returns..It could be a bad connection, but I have noticed a different part number on the chip as well..
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

friijy2001
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Atari STE Power Up

Post by friijy2001 » Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:16 pm

exxos wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:12 pm
friijy2001 wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:04 pm
I will pop the case back together and continue testing :)
I guess it would be interesting if you put the old chip back in to see if the fault returns..It could be a bad connection, but I have noticed a different part number on the chip as well..
Yes it was a little bit of let's see what happens going :lol: . I am going to test it with the other chip for some hours to see what happens and will plug the old chip in to see it it was a bad connection or the chip at fault.
Call me Stephen :)

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”