NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Problems with your machine in general.
stephen_usher
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by stephen_usher » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:48 pm

OK, after more testing I think that I can say that the problem is that the writes to the device aren't happening.

For those not in the know, the trick being used to write is to put the data into one byte of the address whilst doing a read cycle. From what I understand the device then picks up the value held in the address and writes it into a location held elsewhere in the address. For whatever reason this is not working.

Can the hardware people think of possible reasons for this on some TTs but not others? Voltage loss on the address bus making it too low for the NetUSBee device to read reliably? If so then why can it access the device ROM and do reads?

I'm flummoxed.

(I've cleaned the ROM port as best I can. I've pushed the tines in so they make harder contact. I've looked at them under a magnifying glass and they all look OK.)
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

stephen_usher
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by stephen_usher » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:08 pm

Looking at this a bit further: If I run ht1ene.tos test continuously it will eventually crash with "Illegal Instruction". It will do this at a random time, sometimes quite quickly, which suggests that maybe there's a poor interaction between the data bus and the RTL ethernet chip causing corrupted instruction fetch by the CPU. More evidence pointing to this is that if the CPU cache is turned off it happens more quickly.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5071
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by exxos » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:43 am

I don't know about either thing.. But could it be a bus loading issue as I've had that problem on my ste recently..where plugging in a cart would give the impression of bad tos ROM.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

czietz
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by czietz » Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:23 pm

As far as I know, the NetUSBee design is available to the public. So maybe someone should review the schematic. Could be (capacitive) loading of the bus, but could also be that the buffers on the NetUSBee due to some glitch in the logic design output data to the bus when they shouldn't do so.

stephen_usher
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by stephen_usher » Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:21 pm

I've downloaded the documentation but it doesn't seem to have a logical diagram, merely a set of board layouts for a certain PCB design program.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

czietz
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by czietz » Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:49 pm

In the download I do see the schematic file: version1.sch.
However, as you mentioned, it is for the less well known design software Number One Systems EasyPC. Now, I don't have a NetUSBee and won't get invested in this. But you could try if the schematic can be opened with the demo/trial version of said program: https://www.numberone.com/. Or you could redraw the schematic from the PCB layout (provided in industry standard Gerber format) or from your actual hardware.

stephen_usher
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by stephen_usher » Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:36 pm

The software method is probably the only way given that the Lotharek board is multi-layer and has an upper paint layer obscuring all the tracks.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by rpineau » Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:47 pm

The schematics seems really simple and is available in the etherne.zip file in the ETHERNEC directory as SCHEMAT.GIF :
SCHEMAT.GIF
SCHEMAT.GIF (9.07 KiB) Viewed 612 times
This doesn't have the USB part but the ethernet part is there.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by rpineau » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:46 pm

I downloaded the demo version of the Easy PCB software (you have to register with them... little bit annoying) and I can open the sch file for the NetUSBee.
So we should be able to redo it in Eagle.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee Lite problems on TT: Any thoughts?

Post by rpineau » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:59 pm

The access for the RTL8019AS is exactly the same as the original ethernec :
Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 15.57.40.png
Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 15.57.40.png (195.6 KiB) Viewed 602 times
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

Post Reply