DualTOS assembly accident

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane » Fri Mar 16, 2018 6:23 pm

Hi,

This question is mostly for Exxos.
I've assembled my Dual TOS kit, i had plugged it in my motherboard, but i wanted to disconnect it for some reason...

I did it carefully, but not enough. So i've bent or broke a lot of pins.

I maybe fixed it by replacing the damaged pins. It's ok, except for the one marked below as "B".
The narrow copper track on the other side is gone with the old pin. I've replaced it by a wire connected between "A" (on the other side) and "B".
DUALTOSR2.jpg
DUALTOSR2.jpg (256.46 KiB) Viewed 672 times
What do you think about this ?
Is it ok to have a continuity between the two sides of the board on the connection point marked as "A" ?
Is it worth a try or will it put my motherboard at risk ?

Shame on me :oops: So I ordered another kit, but maybe this one could be used inside another machine.
Thanks for your help.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4572
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by exxos » Fri Mar 16, 2018 7:28 pm

(A) is just a via, so it will contact top and bottom...

rs.jpg
rs.jpg (26.19 KiB) Viewed 663 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:20 pm

OK, thank you. So I'll give it a try ;)

User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by francouai » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:20 am

It happened to me too by adding 2 PINS on the Gotek drive for the rotary switch.
too bad.. :lol: all fixed now.
--
Francouai

User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:54 pm

2 pins ? :lol:
I broke 12 of them right after finished the soldering !
:dizzy:

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:14 pm

Did you solder the pins into the mainboard? I used the sockets and had no problems, plus the Gotek still fitted above it.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane » Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:22 pm

No, i used the sockets too.
But i soldered the 4 rows of pins without taking care of the space between them... So after connecting, the board was too high and the gotek too tight. That's why i wanted to take it out to correct it a little. And... Voilà.
It's a pitty as i was really proud of my soldering job.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:29 pm

Ahh, ok, with you now.

I've done two so far, happily no incident with either. I plugged the headers into the sockets and pushed all the way home, then put the ROM switcher on the headers.

There's usually enough tension on the pins to hold the board in the right place whilst you work, and I only solder one pin at the end of each row, until I'm happy with postioning. It's a lot easier to adjust if you only have the end pins soldered, then finish off once you're happy with alignment.

Will keep my fingers crossed you can get it sorted out.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane » Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:40 pm

Thanks! :thumbup:
I fixed it already, but had no time to test it.
Plus, i ordered a second kit to offer me a second chance to do a good job on my main STE.
This one will go in another (older) machine.

User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane » Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:21 pm

Hi all,
I received the second DualTOS kit from Exxos (thanks!) and I managed to assemble it without issue this time.
I did not have to modify the jumpers, my STE came with 1.62 and the "resistors-like" jumpers were already in the right place:
W103, W102 and W104 in the middle-right.

But, .. yes there is a but ...
When switched to TOS 1.62 everything seems to be fine and the STE shows the desktop.
When switched to TOS 2.06 i get 11 bombs right after the memory test.

Arg! Someone already had that ?
Many thanks in advance for any idea.

Post Reply