STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Help & information about the STE V1 booster.
Locked
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:02 pm

Its looking kinda official now I think..

This next board does the same...

111.jpg
111.jpg (11.51 KiB) Viewed 574 times

Its not a problem with ROM.. adding waitstates to ROM does help, but the CPU locks up in under 30 seconds even when using ROM at slower or stock speeds.. So nothing I can do other than use 38MHz...

.. and typical Farnell only sell 36Mhz in 5V :roll: (not 38MHz)

Will keep testing these others, maybe one will run at 40MHz, but I think 38MHz is likely going to be the official speed.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1727
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:05 pm

BTW, was this how we are expecting to boost the STF boards or is there another way? I know there's the 8mhz soldered link. If so, I can probably try my STE booster in it at some point if it helps?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:32 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:05 pm
BTW, was this how we are expecting to boost the STF boards or is there another way? I know there's the 8mhz soldered link. If so, I can probably try my STE booster in it at some point if it helps?
You could try it, I'm not sure about the ROM access on it.. Everything is set up for STE timings, so likely will be some issues on a STF... You could just try plugging the booster to the remake board, not connecting the CE line to anything... And see if it runs like that... But I would not be really surprised if it did not work.

Ultimately it will use the 50MHz SEC booster.. But that will likely need DIP CPU socket... I said somewhere before about this, that am thinking of using a CPU expansion bus is basically the DIP CPU socket.. Basically because testing will have to be done on a STFM anyway, so it it fits the remake board as well, it says be having to develop 2 different PCBs of basically the same thing. But of course, I actually need to finish the SEC booster first.. Once that is actually finished, likely will be around the same time I would be looking at making the mongrel STF board.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1727
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:46 pm

Which makes sense as you'd put the dip socket on that board instead, which also makes more sense from a reliability point of view with dips being less did say about bad connections.

So I will probably leave the booster in the STE for now.

Will happily be a guinea pig again for the sec booster once you've created it, as will fix up the new STFM hopefully over the weekend.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:57 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:46 pm
Which makes sense as you'd put the dip socket on that board instead, which also makes more sense from a reliability point of view with dips being less did say about bad connections.
The header pins on these things are so tiny and not easy to get to either. It be a lot easier to have normal header pins like the STFM boosters.

2 of these new STE ones are not working.. no idea why, but its like 50% failure rate so far :roll:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1727
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:06 pm

I can imagine. Far too easy to create a dry joint or to bridge two pins.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by troed » Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:58 pm

I have a feeling I've asked this once and now forgotten what the answer was. Sorry, but:

Can these be switched between 8/max while running, without the STE locking up?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:03 pm

troed wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:58 pm
I have a feeling I've asked this once and now forgotten what the answer was. Sorry, but:

Can these be switched between 8/max while running, without the STE locking up?
They can switch in real time yes... They actually do that when accessing the ACIA anyway.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by troed » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:09 pm

Alright, time for me to get one then :)

(secret mission: New GAL project to switch from software)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:25 pm

troed wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:09 pm
(secret mission: New GAL project to switch from software)
Cool! Might actually get that integrated into the SEC booster ,so choose a good register ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Locked