STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Help & information about the STE V1 booster.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:26 pm

Had a email from Troed suggesting trying a heatsink.. Though the CPU does not actually get hot, I did documented this *somewhere* with actual temps.. But to the touch the CPU does not get warm even after long use.

So I had the idea to use freezer spray.. A quick test before and GB6 locked up after completing the first test... With the freezer spray it did 2 full loops without crashing... So definitely a improvement.

I then thought for the hell of it to up the voltage a bit to see if that would work.. Upon measuring the voltage I was actually running at 4.60V :roll: What I remember now, as I was using this SR98 PSU to power my Falcon when I was looking at the reset issues while ago and must have forgot to put the voltage back afterwards :roll:

So I put it back to 5.00V on the booster so far has done a couple of full loops... I will leave it running for a while and see what happens..

Though it is reasonable to assume at this point that 40MHz may well be back on the cards!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

troed
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 450
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by troed » Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:34 pm

;) I was just going to comment on that - sounded weird that they didn't get hot at all!

4.6V was probably indeed very challenging for them to be running at :D

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:24 pm

Last time I looked was loop 14... Its locked up again :( Will re-seat the booster and try again...

Saying that, this motherboard has 2.2K SIL's on it, and 2.2K on the booster is a bit to low overall... Will have to take the SIL's off the MB and put connectors on the MB instead so I can swap them out.. Might have to wait until next week now though...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:46 am

Can you guys who have this booster, try saving desktop.inf to a floppy ? it seems to be corrupting mine :roll:

I will try the machine with a stock CPU as well to make sure the machine actually hasn't got some DMA related issue....

EDIT:

No DMA issues with stock CPU... this could be issues with the pull ups being to low in value.. will swap them out on the MB and try again....


EDIT2:

Got some 10k SIL's in there now, and saving to floppy is now working fine :)

I'll probably move to 4.7K SIL's on future builds, then this shouldn't be a problem... Worst case really is to simply cut out the motherboard SIL's if this problem arises again, which I do not think it will.

So now I am testing again at 40MHz... See how long it runs for this time...

IMG_3425.JPG
IMG_3425.JPG (142.3 KiB) Viewed 131 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:53 pm

Current test at 40MHz was 22mins (8 loops).

Will reseat the booster and try again, but I think this is just the CPU maxing out...

I will also try swapping my SR98 for my own brand power supply to see if that makes any difference...

EDIT:
10mins loop 4 the second time.. so makes sense really...

Next the exxos psu installed (was SR98 before)......nope... so its not PSU stability...

So we are back to slower clock speeds again it seems :(
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:09 pm

The 36 MHz oscillators came today.. So swapped out the current booster's 40MHz one... Its now on test.. will see what happens...

This particular board seems to want to pop out of the socket for some reason.. But I am not really surprised about this....

My first 3-D object sort of like this...

999.jpg
999.jpg (9.49 KiB) Viewed 87 times


The idea roughly is to have this fit around the outside the CPU, and the angle at the top will match the slant of the shielding... So the shielding will push on top of this block, and the block will push down on top of the CPU holding it in place in the socket.

Of course it would help if I was actually any good at cad :lol: I think it will be easy to do, I just need to actually work out the proper dimensions for this :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Forgottenmyname » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:16 pm

That should be pretty easy in Fusion 360 exxos, I've only just started using it, so I'm sure you'll manage to learn it quicker than me :-)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:45 pm

So 53mins loop 17 :roll: so double the run time from before, but still its tripping up after a hour... will re-test.. but these CPU's don't seem to overclock well at all :(
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

troed
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 450
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by troed » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:02 pm

I don't think this makes much sense actually. Constant load for almost an hour should be plenty to show any overclock issues. My other guess was that it's heat related (when I overclocked the Shifter to 64MHz a simple heatsink made a huge difference) but even then it should show up quite quickly.

Are they stable at 32 ... ?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:03 pm

So after some measuring, thankfully the CPU is directly under the flat part of the metal shielding.. So only really needs to gap padding out couple of millimetres..

Idea of this object is it will sit on top of the CPU, grip it around its edges by about 1.5mm, which will be all it really needs so it does not move.. And the plastic will sit 1.5mm above the CPU and push up to the shielding.. I also put a hole in the middle cos it looks cool :lol:

I need to print one out, but it will have to wait :)

yay.jpg
yay.jpg (41.04 KiB) Viewed 71 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply