non-socketed CPU

Help & information about the STE V1 booster.
Post Reply
User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:20 pm

Hiya,

I just read that the new plug-in STE booster is not likely to be ready anytime soon. I was looking forward for this mainly because my STE has it's CPU SMT mount without a socket:
cpu_no_socket.jpg
cpu_no_socket.jpg (394.97 KiB) Viewed 997 times
My working route was desoldering the CPU and placing a PLCC68 Socket instead, then plug the new Booster into that socket.

Since I am most likely not alone with that problem, I thought I made a topic out of it and see where it goes.

So the new idea is to still socket the CPU and then finding a PLCC plug which can be soldered onto the booster and plug safely in the new CPU socket:
R244686-01.jpg
R244686-01.jpg (41.53 KiB) Viewed 997 times
Could that work? Has anyone tried that? Are there any experiences or alternatives? In addition, any recommendations for PLCC sockets and plugs?
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2948
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:35 pm

Good topic.

It is indeed a problem, even so on STFM's as well. The only thing I have seen is the Amiga guys, basically gluing a upside down socket ontop of the CPU and running things that way.

Though as the CPU needs to be removed and replaced with a faster one, that solution wouldn't work, at least not for boosters anyway.

Maybe some SMT PLCC sockets which may fit ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:01 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:35 pm
It is indeed a problem, even so on STFM's as well. The only thing I have seen is the Amiga guys, basically gluing a upside down socket ontop of the CPU and running things that way.
Though as the CPU needs to be removed and replaced with a faster one, that solution wouldn't work, at least not for boosters anyway.
If you replace the CPU with a PLCC68 dummy, I believe it would work. But would this have any advantage over a PLCC Socket and -Plug combination?
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2948
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:06 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:01 pm
If you replace the CPU with a PLCC68 dummy, I believe it would work. But would this have any advantage over a PLCC Socket and -Plug combination?
Not sure what you mean by "PLCC68 Dummy" ? You mean like the adapter your posted before ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:18 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:06 pm
Not sure what you mean by "PLCC68 Dummy" ? You mean like the adapter your posted before ?
No, a PLCC dummy is basically an empty chip casing, like these here:

http://www.topline.tv/plcc.html

You could replace the CPU on board with a dummy and then clip the reverse PLCC socket on top of it. The CPU would still be replaced since the dummy contains no logic.
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2948
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:31 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:18 pm

You could replace the CPU on board with a dummy and then clip the reverse PLCC socket on top of it. The CPU would still be replaced since the dummy contains no logic.
Had not seen those before.

Oddly though, I did get a couple of plastic squares made which was basically the same thing (without the pins) to use as a dummy CPU for my "plug in STE booster". Its one thing to have the pins going into the socket, but nothing to really hold it all together, so a "dummy CPU" was needed. So I got some plastic squares cut for that.

In anycase, If going to the trouble of soldering a dummy CPU, That socket you posted could just be soldered instead. Or use a SMT PLCC68 socket. I guess which ever way is going to be a bugger to solder... Which most people wouldn't be able to do.

Can't really think of any other solutions, best fix, replace the motherboard ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2948
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:34 pm

Only other solution would be to have a adapter PCB. With a PLCC socket on it, and maybe right angle pins out of the bottom to solder to the motherboard. IIRC the new PLCC68 sockets are a fraction smaller than the original ones, so it might "fit" together.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by Maeke » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:40 pm

what exxos means is this http://www.ebay.fr/itm/SOCKET-PLCC-68-P ... xyd8NSa8Dd (just an example exxos, don't slap me)
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:47 pm

Yep, I understand. My plan was to desolder the original CPU (I would have used hot air) and replace it with a standard PLCC SMT socket like in your link in any case. This way I would have a more or less "standard" STE board with a socketed CPU (If I did not mess up the CPU in the progress :-P) I'm quite positive this is doable.

What concerns me more is the other half of the project. Is it possible to solder a PLCC plug on the bottom of the STE booster? AFAIK it was planned to equip the next STE booster with a PLCC plug to circumvent the user having to solder anything. Could this plug be fitted on the current booster?
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2948
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:56 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:47 pm
Yep, I understand. My plan was to desolder the original CPU (I would have used hot air) and replace it with a standard PLCC SMT socket like in your link in any case. This way I would have a more or less "standard" STE board with a socketed CPU (If I did not mess up the CPU in the progress :-P) I'm quite positive this is doable.

What concerns me more is the other half of the project. Is it possible to solder a PLCC plug on the bottom of the STE booster? AFAIK it was planned to equip the next STE booster with a PLCC plug to circumvent the user having to solder anything. Could this plug be fitted on the current booster?
I don't think the current booster could be adapted easily.

The booster I was working on is this one... viewtopic.php?f=3&t=46

Though I planned not to use a socket at all on that design, just solder the CPU direct to the PCB. The pins would plug into the CPU socket on the motherboard... The pins would probably align to the motherboard where the CPU is soldered direct. Though still have the problem to solder the pins to the motherboard. No way to get the soldering iron to solder them direct. So only solution would likely be is to solder some sort of socket on the board.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply