non-socketed CPU

Help & information about the STE V1 booster.
User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:58 am

Hiya,

Since I have the STE booster, could the same be achieved with this one, or do I really have to toss it and buy another one?
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 1647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:00 am

IngoQ wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:58 am
Hiya,

Since I have the STE booster, could the same be achieved with this one, or do I really have to toss it and buy another one?
The both pretty much the same design. Just different PCB layout.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:18 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:28 pm
Also you will need to change the resistor packs on the motherboard for 2.2K ones, as the ones on the booster board will be isolated from the CPU.
Slowly trying to understand, how this all works... until now it only was mechanics for me, basically ;)

As far as I understood, this refers to the pull-ups on adress and databus, so P101-P103 and P104-P105, am I right? These have originally (at least in the schematics) 4.7k and 10k. You change them to 2.2k, because the original ones do not raise the levels fast enough for 32MHz?
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 1647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:28 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:18 pm


Slowly trying to understand, how this all works... until now it only was mechanics for me, basically ;)

As far as I understood, this refers to the pull-ups on adress and databus, so P101-P103 and P104-P105, am I right? These have originally (at least in the schematics) 4.7k and 10k. You change them to 2.2k, because the original ones do not raise the levels fast enough for 32MHz?
The address and databus resistors which are 4.7k and 10k, I change them all for 2.2K. Without them machine is just simply unstable. Signals have to change faster at 32 MHz so it needs a lower value resistor.

Basically to save changing them on the motherboard, I just included them on the STE booster board itself. They then get linked with the ones on the motherboard, so the values of actually going to work out a little less than 2.2K.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:49 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:28 pm
They then get linked with the ones on the motherboard, so the values of actually going to work out a little less than 2.2K.
Should I use 1.5k for P101-P103 and 1.8k for P104 and P105 then?

(Because 4.7k and 2.2k parallel is 1.5k and of course 10k and 2.2k parallel is 1.8k ...)
Last edited by IngoQ on Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: maths...
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 1647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:52 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:49 pm
Should I use 1.5k for P101-P103 and 1.8k for P104 and P105 then?

(Because 4.7k and 2.2k parallel is 1.5k and of course 10k and 2.2k parallel is 1.8k ...)
If you're removing the resistors, just use 2.2 K as replacements.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:01 pm

Hmm, I guess the machine should start with only the resistors replaced and everything else stock? If so, then I might have another issue with this system...
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 1647
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:29 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:01 pm
Hmm, I guess the machine should start with only the resistors replaced and everything else stock? If so, then I might have another issue with this system...
Yes, and apparently yes ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:03 pm

Found it... while removing the resistor packages, I damaged two address lines :-( Repaired now, but I am certainly never going to change them back ;)
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: non-socketed CPU

Post by IngoQ » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:38 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:02 pm
Image
I'm not that cofortable with bending up CPU pins. I am afraid, they might break. In the above picture, it looks like you found another way of isolating the CPU clock... did you cut a trace somewhere? I followed the CPU clock until it disappeared under U203, but did not find any nice solder points...
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Post Reply