Page 7 of 7

Re: non-socketed CPU

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:42 pm
by exxos
IngoQ wrote:
Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:38 pm
I'm not that cofortable with bending up CPU pins. I am afraid, they might break. In the above picture, it looks like you found another way of isolating the CPU clock... did you cut a trace somewhere? I followed the CPU clock until it disappeared under U203, but did not find any nice solder points...
There was a lot of track cutting underneath the motherboard :( I think I had to cut to tracks the CPU clock pin, then bridged to cuts over bypassing the CPU, and then just running the CPU clock to the board. I scraped the PCB varnish off and soldered wires directly to the tracks I think . It was rather a mess..

Bending the pins up is a little bit iffy, but you only need to lift it up enough to get stuff the circuit board get a wire on the pad underneath. Bending them up vertically once is normally okay, as long as you do not bend it a second time.

Re: non-socketed CPU

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:31 pm
by IngoQ
If anyone is interested in the outcome: Here is my report :)

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=358

Re: non-socketed CPU

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:28 pm
by exxos
As a side thought...

Assuming you (or anyone) added a SMT socket for this plug in booster I am working on.. I wonder if the socket is the same size...

What I mean is, on my MMU RAM expansion board, I plug the headers on the outside of the pin socket...


Image

I unfortunately found the CPU socket on the STE is different than the STFM MMU socket, in that the outer plastic is thicker and the pins do not align from the STFM socket to the STE socket. This likely means a SMT socket could be different again. So while I could develop a plug in booster to fit STE sockets.. it may not fit all STE's still :roll: and be more problematical if SMT sockets are different again..

I would assume all the STE CPU sockets used are the same brand.. but they may not be.. I don't think they are marked either..