ubeswitch - video adapter.

Must have 3rd party solutions.
Post Reply
ube
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:34 am

ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by ube » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:27 pm

IMG_1088.JPG
IMG_1088.JPG (2.07 MiB) Viewed 1115 times
ubeswitch is a semi-smart solution for your Atari STFM/E/MEGA ST which adds:
* VGA connector
* Button for switching video mode and configuration (see blelow).
* 3.5mm A/V connector
* Volume control.
* Automatic detection and switching of resolution (requires software implementation).

Button functions:
* Short press (0.25-1.999[..] seconds): Switch resolution.
* Long press (+2 seconds): Save current resolution as default at cold boot.

Please note:
15KHz H-Sync capable monitor is required. Such as the one reviewed here viewtopic.php?f=30&t=309
Early ST models does not have 12V output on video port and thus cannot power the adapter.



Code, schematics and PCB-layout available at GitHub

Store link

Glamour shot
gs.jpg
gs.jpg (44.88 KiB) Viewed 475 times

Methanoid
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:53 am

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by Methanoid » Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:31 pm

Automatic detection and switching of resolution (requires software implementation).

What does this mean exactly? ST software needed? Or what... I can find no info anywhere... Thanks

ube
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:34 am

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by ube » Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:57 pm

Yepp. Software is under development, don’t know the status or who, except Troed, might be working on a driver.

Small demo:


troed
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by troed » Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:36 pm

Yeah it's still on my todo ... :/ It is a bit tricky.

For demo developers, no driver is necessary. It's common to edit in high res, then disable VBL, switch to low - run the demo - switch back and enable VBL again. Works perfectly fine with the auto switching adapter :)

Methanoid
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:53 am

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by Methanoid » Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:04 am

Q: Would this work still with the original 520 ST (not STFM)

troed
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by troed » Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:55 pm

Methanoid wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:04 am
Q: Would this work still with the original 520 ST (not STFM)
Yes, I use it with one.

Methanoid
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:53 am

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by Methanoid » Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:36 pm

Q: does this pass all signals from STE video port to pins on VGA? I am wondering if it would be possible to plug the VGA output into a GBS8220 scan doubler... and whether that device then would double LO/MED but not HI ?? Curious

ube
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:34 am

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by ube » Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:41 pm

Methanoid wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:36 pm
Q: does this pass all signals from STE video port to pins on VGA? I am wondering if it would be possible to plug the VGA output into a GBS8220 scan doubler... and whether that device then would double LO/MED but not HI ?? Curious
Can’t really see why it shouldn’t work. As long as the scan doubler can handle 15khz signal over its vga port.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: ubeswitch - video adapter.

Post by IngoQ » Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:02 pm

Don't know about the GBS8220, but the framemeister will accept the 15kHz-Signal and convert/scale it. When provided with ST-High it will either produce a distorted image or none at all, since it's inputs are not designed for VGA (or similar) timings. I think the GBS8220 will pretty much behave the same way.

That's actually how I use it currently, while the ubeswitch is on it's way: Having a DIN to SCART cable for Lo/Med which is connected to the framemeister, and a DIN to VGA cable connected directly to the display.

Having the ubeswitch in between that would in my mind defy a little the purpose of the switch, since I see it's main advantage in not having to change the connection, when switching from Lo/Med to Hi. Provided your display can handle 15KHz.

Or am I missing something?
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Post Reply