STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Must have 3rd party solutions.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:55 pm

I'm very lucky to have got my hands on one of these:
IMG_20180118_223024.jpg
It's the tiny purple board in the middle :)
IMG_20180118_223024.jpg (4.97 MiB) Viewed 1261 times
It's basically a tiny device from Urban Jonsson, that lets you use a combination of power off/on, plus a press of the reset switch, to select which of the 2 versions of TOS in exxos' excellent fast ROM switcher for the STE that you wish to boot up in.

It means no cutting of the case for a switch to change your TOS. I'm all for that.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4029
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:00 am

sweet! I've not even got one to mess with yet! :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by Maeke » Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:42 am

If exxos likes it, we may see it as an official feature of his future tos switcher revisions.... :threadjacked:
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:38 am

Apparently I have one of only 3 in existence!

The hardest part was finding R100 to take the reset signal from :pullhair: It's actually on the front left of the board, next to an axial capacitor, running north-south (Cartridge port is west, Floppy is east, back is north, front is south!). The pick off point was the north lead of R100.

It would be cool to add to future switcher revisions, as you can see, adding it to the GND and SEL headers on the SWITCHER board was straightforward. On Urban's advice, I removed the pull up resistor and added a 3rd pin from that hole up to VCC. It needed bending slightly in order align with the holes, which unlike GND & SEL, don't line up in a straight line.

Switching is easy. Power off, hold down reset, power on. Release reset, and you will switch ROM. Otherwise it will stay with whatever is currently selected.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:42 am

exxos wrote:
Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:00 am
sweet! I've not even got one to mess with yet! :lol:
You need one Chris :)
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

ube
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:34 am

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by ube » Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:58 am

Image

Made some new ones that won’t be such a tight fit. Thinking of making them with THT Attinies and in kit form; aka less work for ube.

User avatar
DrF
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:18 pm

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by DrF » Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:30 pm

That looks like a excellent idea I was moaning about wanting something like this before for some reason I cannot remember now :lol:

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:49 pm

ube wrote:
Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:58 am
Image

Made some new ones that won’t be such a tight fit. Thinking of making them with THT Attinies and in kit form; aka less work for ube.
Interesting redesign. My temptation after installing this, would be to mount it below the TOS switcher PCB, rather than above, as I've done, as it would clear the FDD better.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4029
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:56 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:49 pm
Interesting redesign. My temptation after installing this, would be to mount it below the TOS switcher PCB, rather than above, as I've done, as it would clear the FDD better.
Thats a good idea, I never thought of that!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

ube
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:34 am

Re: STE Dual TOS switcher widget

Post by ube » Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:48 pm

Main problem with the first one is that the peg for mounting the floppy is right besides the header. And mounting it using a female header on the header-board, below the dualTOS, won’t work since it’ll hit the motherboard. At least I think came to that conclusion when I looked into it.

Post Reply