Extentions on 1040STF Mainboards

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Post Reply
tuxie
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Extentions on 1040STF Mainboards

Post by tuxie » Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:31 pm

Hello all,

we are planing todo some new Extension for the ST, so there was a questions what was popping up.
When you solder a socket on the CPU of a ST where the cpu is located under the keyboard, would it still fit when a board is plugged in it.

So it means, is there enough space to solder a socket onto the cpu and plug a board in it. We can make the board so that there is enough space with the chips but would it fit just socekt and a board? Does someone habe some experiences ?


Regards

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 3510
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Extentions on 1040STF Mainboards

Post by exxos » Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:52 pm

There is space for CPU & socket, so socket and PCB isn't a problem like my V2.2 booster.

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V ... /index.htm
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Extentions on 1040STF Mainboards

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:10 pm

What sort of extensions do you mean? I'd be interested to hear.

In terms of space under the keyboard I have some experience. Here is a Vortex ATonce that is connected directly to the top of the CPU:
vort1_Crop.jpg
vort1_Crop.jpg (145.3 KiB) Viewed 180 times
It is plugged into a socket soldered on top of the CPU, and I decided to try it in a normal case and it is just too high for the keyboard to sit down properly, maybe by about 5mm. I can measure if you like.

I also have a PAK in a socket, and there is no way on earth it would let even a keyboard sit down properly. New case needed I reckon!
Installed.jpg
Installed.jpg (440.64 KiB) Viewed 180 times
Will also depend on if you intend to keep the upper metal RF heat shield, as that is lower than the keyboard.

Exxos does do boosters for these models of ST, which will fit, so as long as you can keep stuff low I'm sure it'll be fine.

Let me know if you want me to measure the height of the ATonce and the socket it sits in, I'm happy to do so.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk


Post Reply