MSTE Mousse issue

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

MSTE Mousse issue

Post by francouai » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:15 pm

Hi!
I'm loosing the Right/Left click on my ATARI mouse connected to the Mega STE keyboard (right port).
I can move the mouse.. but no click.
I can use the "virtual" mousse from the keyboard (INSERT KEY to clic).

I just realised that, If I disconnect the keyboard from the main MSTE unit and reconnect it two, tree times, the mouse is working back.

Any idea?
--
Francouai

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

bad cable or bad socket by sounds of it.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by francouai » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:35 pm

I just opened the keyboard and cleaned everything in.
I see no problem inside.
I notice the RJ11 connector is not very clean, I'll change it ASAP.
--
Francouai

User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by francouai » Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:31 am

Sorry Guys, but I'm running out of idea.

I took a movie to show you the problem:


I cannot do a right clic.
I can use the keyboard to navigate on the menus (ALT + arrow keys + Enter) but big shit with this mouse.
Do not take care about the Floppy drive error message, it was disconnected at this time.
I see NO problem on my MSTE keyboard.. everything is well connected inside. no bad contact on the mouse port.
--
Francouai

User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by francouai » Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:56 am

I'm running actually with TOS 2.06, but I had the same problem with the TOS 2.05
--
Francouai

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by exxos » Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:07 pm

If the keys on the keyboard work, then either the mouse or mouse ports are faulty.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by francouai » Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:45 pm

I tried another Atari mouse and that's the same.
how works the mouse port inside the MSTE keyboard?
it there a special IC to check?
--
Francouai

User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by PaulJ » Wed Oct 24, 2018 2:21 pm

Sounds like the actual port where the mouse plugs in. On a normal 1040 its a common issue where the mouse connector gets bad solder joints from repeater use. You should check the bottom of the pc board where the mouse plugs in and insure there are no bad solder joints.

User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by francouai » Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:22 pm

I did a check on the PIN's connector and saw nothing wrong. Points are all good.

I just realised that the mouse is problematic when the MSTE just started.
I have to wait at least 3 or 4 minutes to get it back working fine.

But when the MSTE is hot and I do a OFF/ON reboot, I have to wait also 3 or 4 minutes!
very strange...
--
Francouai

User avatar
francouai
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm
Location: PARIS

Re: MSTE Mousse issue

Post by francouai » Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:53 pm

if I connect a Joystick on the 2eme left port, then it is back suck. :?
I'm going to test with another spare MSTE/TT keyboard.
--
Francouai

Post Reply