16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Locked
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15299
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:34 pm

tzok wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:26 pm
Some time ago I was asking about possibility of preparing ROM versions of YAART and SysInfo, but with no response. I only know, that it is impossible to just put an PRG file on a ROM.
Atarian Computing has put together a tool set to do just that. GB6 is now a PRG on the cartridge.

viewtopic.php?f=29&t=140&start=80#p17175

I never thought about sysinfo.. but there isn't any room left in this particular ROM. I guess I second ROM could be done with Diagrom and some other stuff like sysinfo.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

Atarian Computing
Posts: 436
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by Atarian Computing » Fri Jan 25, 2019 7:23 am

exxos wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:34 pm
tzok wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:26 pm
Some time ago I was asking about possibility of preparing ROM versions of YAART and SysInfo, but with no response. I only know, that it is impossible to just put an PRG file on a ROM.
Atarian Computing has put together a tool set to do just that. GB6 is now a PRG on the cartridge.

viewtopic.php?f=29&t=140&start=80#p17175

I never thought about sysinfo.. but there isn't any room left in this particular ROM. I guess I second ROM could be done with Diagrom and some other stuff like sysinfo.
Sysinfo cart
SYSINFO.png
SYSINFO.png (63.41 KiB) Viewed 2917 times
Attachments
SYSINFO.zip
(57.41 KiB) Downloaded 112 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15299
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:17 am

It may be worth doing a second ROM just for general utils rather than diagnostics. Things like sys_info, FCOPYIII... no idea what else be useful... I dont use many apps past GB6 and FCOPY personally..

Another thought I just had about GB6.. it needs the desktop.inf files on there to boot to medium res...

These are the 2 files I used.. newdesk.inf and desktop.inf.
GB6_FLOPPY.zip
(806 Bytes) Downloaded 108 times
Of course the A:\ paths will need to be altered to c:\

Then GB6 should auto boot from medium res desktop and auto load GB6... With it being the only app there, it be better to auto boot it anyway.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

Atarian Computing
Posts: 436
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by Atarian Computing » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:29 am

K, here's a very alpha GUI version of my Powershell script. Make sure you have the files to be converted in the same directory as the executable.

You can select either 64KB or 128KB. I have not coded any safeguards if the file is larger than the image you are converting to. Expect crashes. Otherwise it works just fine.
2019-01-25 13_28_02-Atari ST CartMaker.png
2019-01-25 13_28_02-Atari ST CartMaker.png (25.87 KiB) Viewed 2904 times
Attachments
ST Cart Maker.zip
(360.33 KiB) Downloaded 122 times

Atarian Computing
Posts: 436
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by Atarian Computing » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:32 am

exxos wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:17 am
Another thought I just had about GB6.. it needs the desktop.inf files on there to boot to medium res...
This would only work with a complex ramdisk. I'll see if there is another way to autoboot.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4136
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:47 am

I have a cart by Crashman on this forum viewtopic.php?f=11&t=959&hilit=crashman, will the diagnostics be significantly different to those on that cart, if so I need one :)
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15299
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:57 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:47 am
will the diagnostics be significantly different to those on that cart
The cart I am doing has all the basic Atari diagnostic carts, plus will have both versions of YAART & GB6.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15299
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:58 am

Atarian Computing wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:29 am
K, here's a very alpha GUI version of my Powershell script. Make sure you have the files to be converted in the same directory as the executable.

You can select either 64KB or 128KB. I have not coded any safeguards if the file is larger than the image you are converting to. Expect crashes. Otherwise it works just fine.
:bravo: :thanksyellow:
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4136
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:00 pm

exxos wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:57 am

The cart I am doing has all the basic Atari diagnostic carts, plus will have both versions of YAART & GB6.
Ok, cool, ta.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

tzok
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by tzok » Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:51 pm

SysInfo and GemBench work great on my diagnostic cart, thanks! I have not analyzed details of your 16-bit ROM cart, but if you are making a proper use of ROM3/4 lines you may use both 64kB and 128kB ROMs. Yet over-complicated jumper settings tell me that you are switching between 64/128kB cart modes. If you have 8Mbit Flash EPROM, then you may sacrifice 64kB for every 64kB ROM, but instead you could use convenient rotary encoder to select ROM number (like in one from Olivier Gossuin). If you are afraid of some address decoding issues, you may just fill second half of 128kB slot holding a 64kB ROM image with a second copy of the same 64kB ROM image.

Also crashman's cart had a rotary encoder to select ROM:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=959

Locked

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”