16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7411
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:10 pm

Next to work out how to program the ROM..

diag-cart.jpg
diag-cart.jpg (40.58 KiB) Viewed 1353 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7411
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:51 pm

I have tried swapped and not swapped ST diag image files and nothing happens :shrug: So either I've ballsed something up, or 16bit idea just doesn't work for some reason :shrug:

I've got some more ROM's coming this week, could be my eprom have bad connections.. So will program both files again and see if anything happens then..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:01 pm

can you show us the merged file so that I can check if they look fine (and send me the original too so that I can compare :) ).
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7411
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:03 pm

rpineau wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:01 pm
can you show us the merged file so that I can check if they look fine (and send me the original too so that I can compare :) ).
Atari Test Cart Original Roms.zip
(58.14 KiB) Downloaded 65 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau » Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:05 pm

So DIAG_LO_HI.bin is a merge of the 2 other one and then byte-swapped ready to program as it starts with $52 $FA $5F $23 (diag cartridge starts with $FA52235F).
So this file looks good to me and is ready to program.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7411
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:11 pm

rpineau wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:05 pm
So DIAG_LO_HI.bin is a merge of the 2 other one and then byte-swapped ready to program as it starts with $52 $FA $5F $23 (diag cartridge starts with $FA52235F).
So this file looks good to me and is ready to program.
Thanks... I will try a new rom when they arrive as mine eproms are iffy at best of times.. but I think this can't work for some reason :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau » Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:35 pm

I think the Eprom will be fine but may be the logic on the board could be the issue. There is no reason a 16bit eprom would not work.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7411
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:04 pm

New ROM still not working :(

Here is the schematic in case I did something stupid... Though I did wire A15 which isn't actually used on the diag-cart.. It could be HI and selecting the wrong ROM location..

cart.png
cart.png (51.77 KiB) Viewed 1294 times

EDIT:
Yep A15 seems to be high :roll: So I have cut the track and hardwired to 0V and still no boot :( :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:33 pm

And S1, S2 and S3 are grounded in your test ?
Also you could wire /OE to ground and rely on ROM4 to select the chip.
Have you try checking what's going on when ROM4 goes LOW on /UDS, /LDS, /CE and /OE ?
Also for 128K cartridge, A15 is wired but /CE need to go low for both ROM4 and ROM3, so similar to your UDS/LDS with the diodes
So if the diag cartridge code jumps to somewhere above 64K you run into the same code instead of where you need to go and it probably crashes.
ROM4 selects $FA0000 through $FAFFFF (64K)
ROM3 selects $FB0000 through $FBFFFF 64K)

Rodolphe
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7411
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:37 pm

rpineau wrote:
Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:33 pm
And S1, S2 and S3 are grounded in your test ?
Also you could wire /OE to ground and rely on ROM4 to select the chip.
Have you try checking what's going on when ROM4 goes LOW on /UDS, /LDS, /CE and /OE ?
All switches are gnd yes...
/OE is 0.76V (drop over diode)..
/CE is high :shrug: I only check with meter (not scope)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply