Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:20 pm

Will do! ...soon, but not for a couple of nights, I have my work Christmas party tomorrow.

I can't actually set the voltage - my bench power supply can only supply 1.5A and the ST is just a bit too much for it. So I just have the ATX power supply which is fixed.

User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by sandord » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:23 pm

Smonson wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:20 pm
Will do! ...soon, but not for a couple of nights, I have my work Christmas party tomorrow.
Ah, be sure to bring your ST then and run this:


User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:27 pm

Haha, I'm sure my boss would love it, and everyone under 30 would be confused!

ijor
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by ijor » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:05 pm

So it is a powering issue indeed. Too bad Smonson can't yet reproduce it.

I still don't see however, how glitches, ringing, or gnd noise would produce the exact symptoms we see. According to the tests, at least for some of the readings, the bidirectional level shifter is not driving the bus at all. So whatever is happening, lasts at least for a full cycle. May be there is a combination of issues, or may be the tests are misleading somehow.

One thing that might make some sense, is that the FDIR signal is not being recognized as a high level. If the voltage level doesn't quite reach the minimum requirement for a high level (2V), the result might depend on the current VCC level of the chip. That might conceivable explain why it works with lower system 5V voltage. And the lower system voltage might not affect the FDIR signal itself because the FPGA power is regulated.

The FDIR signal looks quite healthy on Smonson's scope. But it might be different for some reason on other systems. So some additional scope measurements could be very useful. But they have to be done on a failing system and on a failing cycle. And scope ground should be connected at the daughter board.

A possible idea to confirm if the problem is the voltage level at the transceiver, could be to insert a diode between the chip VCC pin and the pad? Not sure how difficult would be to do that because of how the HDMI dual board is made.

May be there is a gnd problem at the transceiver that it's affecting? This chip has multiple gnd pins.
http://github.com/ijor/fx68k 68000 cycle exact FPGA core
FX CAST Cycle Accurate Atari ST core
http://pasti.fxatari.com

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:31 am

exxos wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:42 am
As a mad idea, could you double the length of your ribbon cable on your board and try tests again ? Make sure PSU is at 5V or even 5.2V.
It worked perfectly for at least ten minutes with a 10cm cable (no bad reads) - when I increased it to 12cm it wouldn't even boot up once. Crashes immediately with garbage on the screen, or three bombs.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7443
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:11 am

Probably the 32MHz line gets to noisy with the longer cable. Annoying you couldn't replicate the fault. Will have another think.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

ijor
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by ijor » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:09 pm

Any news? Hope this will fully working on 2019! :)
http://github.com/ijor/fx68k 68000 cycle exact FPGA core
FX CAST Cycle Accurate Atari ST core
http://pasti.fxatari.com

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:42 pm

This is kind of on hold at the moment - I need to get my hands on one of these machines with the resetting behavior.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7443
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:08 pm

I think how it was left, was I suggested to Icky he send me his board to see if it worked in the same machine as mine does. At least then we should know a little more of where the problem is.. hopefully.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:26 am

If you guys have got enough motivation left to do that, then that would be awesome. I suspect that the problem is in the machine rather than the DVI board, though. All the boards were tested on my machine before I sent them out, and Troed had the same problem with 2 different DVI boards.

Hey, random question: who has a machined-pin IC socket under their shifter and who had a cheaper blade style socket? I have machined pin myself. I think they have a higher rated current capacity - perhaps they also have lower contact resistance.

Post Reply