Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
ijor
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by ijor » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:09 pm

Any news? Hope this will fully working on 2019! :)
http://github.com/ijor/fx68k 68000 cycle exact FPGA core
FX CAST Cycle Accurate Atari ST core
http://pasti.fxatari.com

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:42 pm

This is kind of on hold at the moment - I need to get my hands on one of these machines with the resetting behavior.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8244
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:08 pm

I think how it was left, was I suggested to Icky he send me his board to see if it worked in the same machine as mine does. At least then we should know a little more of where the problem is.. hopefully.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:26 am

If you guys have got enough motivation left to do that, then that would be awesome. I suspect that the problem is in the machine rather than the DVI board, though. All the boards were tested on my machine before I sent them out, and Troed had the same problem with 2 different DVI boards.

Hey, random question: who has a machined-pin IC socket under their shifter and who had a cheaper blade style socket? I have machined pin myself. I think they have a higher rated current capacity - perhaps they also have lower contact resistance.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8244
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:17 am

All mine are blade types. Though I have had problems with those round header pins as well. I keep having to wipe them with IPA to get my boosters working. They don't look dirty and I'm hardly thouching them either... I'm assuming icky and troed have splashed some IPA about on it all...

Its hard to think what's going on. Though I think icky has tried a real stfm and the remake stf. So granted there are differences on various revisions of motherboards, the stf remake should have worked better than a normal stfm. So I'm leaning towards more of some problem on the FPGA board.

Again I'm assuming the FPGA board has been dismantled and IPA put on all the pins by troed and icky..

There still might be a bad solderjoint somewhere. I had a bad joint on one of the diodes on a PSU earlier. Looked fine, even metered out just fine everywhere..and yet the PSU malfunctioned because of a bad solder joint. I resoldered all 4 diodes and its working fine now. So its easy to get caught out.. There may be a bad solder on the FPGA itself..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1456
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:12 am

I have a working STFM arriving in the next few days so will try the board out on that one too. If I am still having issues I will send my DVI board to exxos to check on his STFM to see if it is working there.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8244
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:37 pm

Icky wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:12 am
I have a working STFM arriving in the next few days so will try the board out on that one too. If I am still having issues I will send my DVI board to exxos to check on his STFM to see if it is working there.
:thumbup:

I forgot (Again sorry) what you was using before, think it was the "ST" and STF remake ? So STFM would be good as its what I tried it out on.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1456
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:55 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:37 pm
Icky wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:12 am
I have a working STFM arriving in the next few days so will try the board out on that one too. If I am still having issues I will send my DVI board to exxos to check on his STFM to see if it is working there.
:thumbup:

I forgot (Again sorry) what you was using before, think it was the "ST" and STF remake ? So STFM would be good as its what I tried it out on.
Problem exists on 520ST and STF Remake so as you say trying on an STFM would be good.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1456
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:44 pm

Icky wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:55 pm
exxos wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:37 pm


:thumbup:

I forgot (Again sorry) what you was using before, think it was the "ST" and STF remake ? So STFM would be good as its what I tried it out on.
Problem exists on 520ST and STF Remake so as you say trying on an STFM would be good.
The plot thickens - Finally got the new (well new for me) STFM and it was functioning correctly.

Fortunately the shifter was already socketed which saved some time. I popped in the HDMI / DVI board and booted.

It did not reset. Have had it running GEMBench for over 30 minutes and still has not reset.

Just to check I put it back in the 520 ST and it starts resetting again.

One thing though is that I am getting a shimmering on the display on the STFM - will look into that next as well.

IMG_3488.jpg
IMG_3488.jpg (126.02 KiB) Viewed 878 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8244
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:46 pm

Icky wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:44 pm
One thing though is that I am getting a shimmering on the display on the STFM - will look into that next as well.
Thats the issue I had...


4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”