Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Progress on our FPGA cores.
User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2395
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:18 pm

Well hats off to you Smonson.

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

New board placed in STF Remake and no resets. Put back in the old board and it immediately started reseting.

Have been using this tonight for quite a few ST apps and the screen is stunning. It's clear, crisp and colourful.

All I need now is to find my HDMI recorder to get a crystal clear video instead on my constantly focusing phone camera.


User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:44 pm

Great to hear! Thanks for the update Icky.

Perhaps there is some relationship between the clock and the resetting behaviour after all. Interesting.

Now you can bask in that pure radioactive green colour with no analogue degredation 😊

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2395
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:51 pm

Smonson wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:44 pm
Great to hear! Thanks for the update Icky.

Perhaps there is some relationship between the clock and the resetting behaviour after all. Interesting.

Now you can bask in that pure radioactive green colour with no analogue degredation 😊
Exxos and I were discussing the board and I had forgotten to test it. Did the test and the result is as you see. Exxos suggested I measured the two boards on the machines that exhibited the resetting so we know what the differences are. I will get to that soon.

Just finished a level of Volfied using the HDMI board brilliant colour and quality.

You know what's coming now. :) How do we get sound down that HDMI cable from the ST as well.

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:57 pm

I gather that I'd have to write some pretty advanced verilog to generate the audio packets. I haven't really looked into it all that much, better to get one thing working at a time.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2395
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:12 am

Smonson wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:57 pm
I gather that I'd have to write some pretty advanced verilog to generate the audio packets. I haven't really looked into it all that much, better to get one thing working at a time.
Absolutely. The HDMI screen is a great feat and is going to be a great add-on board for us. Great work Smonson. :bravo:

There are some little boxes out there already that do DVI & Audio to HDMI but they aren't cheap or cheap cable to desktop speakers :D

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11793
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:48 am

:bravo:

So what exactly were the changes done to the new board ?
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:58 am

Not much. Just the schmitt trigger for the 16MHz clock, the inline resistors on both sides of it, and the capacitor on the output. I got rid of the unneeded resistor pack footprints and moved the header for the ribbon cable.

The reason I filed the corner down is because, on my ST at least, there's an electrolytic capacitor in the way.

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Darklord » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:04 pm

So will these boards work with ST models that do NOT have a modulator
and/or the STacy?

If that question has already been answered in the previous 42 pages, I
apologize - I tried to hit the high points but didn't see any discussion
about it.

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:47 pm

Dunno what the STacy hardware is like, but they don't need a modulator - just a socketed shifter (to remove the shifter and plug in in its place).

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Darklord » Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:03 am

Smonson wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:47 pm
Dunno what the STacy hardware is like, but they don't need a modulator - just a socketed shifter (to remove the shifter and plug in in its place).
Thanks! Not sure how different the STacy is - I know it has a "Shadow" chip in there...
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Post Reply

Return to “FPGA DEVELOPMENT”