Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:27 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:17 am
Icky wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:40 pm
Just to confirm have tried the same on the ST Remake as this is the only one I have a blitter in.

Without vsync and blitter enabled I can not reproduce your behaviour RJ. The boards are working ok.
All the more reason for me to try some other boards I think.
Yeah these machines are like trying to keep an old Ford Escort on the road. You never know what part is going to break every time you turn over the key.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:27 am

Icky wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:27 am

Yeah these machines are like trying to keep an old Ford Escort on the road. You never know what part is going to break every time you turn over the key.
You're not wrong!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:56 pm

Super quick update, I popped the original Shifter back in and re-ran the quick blitter test from the diag cartridge and it passed OK.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

troed
Software Moderator
Software Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed » Sat Mar 23, 2019 10:24 am

Just popping up quickly since I briefly saw my name mentioned. I'm way way way overloaded workwise* and had to cut down on all other activities, like retro. I'll try to get back up to speed and see what software I have to help out with and to test the new, sadly still unpacked, Shifter board on my hardware.

/Troed

*) also, kid #3 arriving in a month ;)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6857
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:59 pm

troed wrote:
Sat Mar 23, 2019 10:24 am
*) also, kid #3 arriving in a month ;)
I've noticed a trend lately, I have put together a formula. more kids = less atari time. :lol: Don't work to hard in any case :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

troed
Software Moderator
Software Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed » Sun Mar 24, 2019 3:28 pm

Now read up.

Regarding Closure, the last time I checked my opinion was that it's a _single_ (or close to single) issue. The way I clear the Shifter at the left border is "different" and so the FPGA Shifter is one bitplane "off" when getting data from the MMU.

Otoh, not a priority to fix, since it's kind of the only demo in existence using that method ... ;)

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:49 am

FYI I did a test on a different, not blittered machine last night, and all seemed fine at low and med res.

At hi res, I got this:
IMG_20190324_233819.jpg
IMG_20190324_233819.jpg (600.01 KiB) Viewed 231 times
There is an obvious shift/step on the LH end of the screen

However, it behaved impeccably otherwise, with all resolutions stable and clear, and no blanking.

I'll try to go through my stack of STFMs and work out which have a blitter (They are actually closed up!) as I'll need to know before pulling them apart. I also have no idea which machines have a socketed shifter, so some checking is needed.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:45 am

That effect comes from the ST and shifter being out of sync with each other. The shifter only gets reset at boot time, when the internal registers are cleared, and after that if it receives an extra LOAD it gets out of sync like this and stays that way until the next reset when it should go back to normal. I don't know why this happens to the FPGA shifter and apparently not the physical shifter :/

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6857
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:50 am

Maybe its just a fluke.. that the actual shifter is to slow or not finished setting up internally to "see" the load pulse ? No idea :( Could you "skip" the extra load on power up ? Though I imagine as not all machines suffer, that would create more issues ?

BTW - did you ever look at the suska video core, see if any ideas in there ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:11 pm

The problem with skipping is knowing which ones to skip. It could also be caused by some other mechanism of course, an unknown unknown.

I've never looked at the suska source actually. Maybe I should learn VHDL.

Post Reply