Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:12 pm

Give me a bit more time to suss out my other blittered non blittered machines and I'll get more testing done.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6862
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:35 pm

I think myself and troed saw this issue when we did the 16MHz boost.. Maybe troed remembers more.. but I think it was actually a sync issue between the MMU & GLUE 8MHz clock.. Where some small delay caused random sync issues..

Doesn't look like I documented it, but RJ could possibly try a small pF like 47pF on the 8MHz line on the bottom of the GLUE and see if that helps (or makes it worse even) .. its possible it may need a series resistor... Its also possible it could be a sync issue with DE from GLUE to MMU as well..

So I think this is just another buggy ST fault where the original atari logic is to slow and dumb for the problem to cause issues...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:38 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:35 pm
Doesn't look like I documented it, but RJ could possibly try a small pF like 47pF on the 8MHz line on the bottom of the GLUE and see if that helps (or makes it worse even) .. its possible it may need a series resistor... Its also possible it could be a sync issue with DE from GLUE to MMU as well..
I'll see what I can do, can you please advise on the pin I need to connect to on the GLUE?
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6862
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:47 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:38 pm
I'll see what I can do, can you please advise on the pin I need to connect to on the GLUE?
GLUE pin 34. It comes from 8MHz clock pin on the 68000 ( pin 15) .
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

troed
Software Moderator
Software Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:48 pm

Well, yes, when doing the doubleST I do get this effect and use a small AUTO program to "clear" the Shifter (same as fullscreen demos do) which seems to work pretty well.

I'll need to look into my test code and see if it's in a state where I can attach the program here (and also if it works in mono, not sure).

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:17 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:47 pm
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:38 pm
I'll see what I can do, can you please advise on the pin I need to connect to on the GLUE?
GLUE pin 34. It comes from 8MHz clock pin on the 68000 ( pin 15) .
Sorry for the questions,as you know my electronics knowledge is still slowly building, but where is the other end of the cap supposed to go? GND? or elsewhere?
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6862
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:27 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:17 pm
Sorry for the questions,as you know my electronics knowledge is still slowly building, but where is the other end of the cap supposed to go? GND? or elsewhere?
gnd :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:38 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:27 pm
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:17 pm
Sorry for the questions,as you know my electronics knowledge is still slowly building, but where is the other end of the cap supposed to go? GND? or elsewhere?
gnd :)
Clearly I'm learning!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6862
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:06 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:38 pm
Clearly I'm learning!
Did you have chance to try this out yet ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:14 am

exxos wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:06 am
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:38 pm
Clearly I'm learning!
Did you have chance to try this out yet ?
Sadly not, work has been pretty busy this week, and I've had other stuff I had to get on with. This weekend isn't looking good either. The crap won't take itself to the dump, nor will the lawn mow itself :(

As for Sunday, well it's Mothers ay and I'm cooking!

I did test on a non blittered machine and it was super stable at low & med res, but had the funny step on the LHS in hi res, which I posted about. I did try running my fingers along the pins and it made no difference, but need to get back to the blitter machine and do the test you indicated.

Will also try with a brand new PSU (Meanwell) that I know will be more than up to the job.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Post Reply