David's Falcon Booster rev 3 -- dabbling with DRAM

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Badwolf

David's Falcon Booster rev 3 -- dabbling with DRAM

Post by Badwolf »

Morning all.

Following on from rev 2b of my unnamed Falcon booster which switches an external 68030 up to 48MHz and adds 1MB of 16-bit Alt-RAM (https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... =29&t=3422), it's time to move on to rev 3 and give the project a name. I've had a complete lack of ideas, so it's going to be DFB1 -- David's Falcon Booster -- rev 3.

Screenshot 2020-11-19 at 22.49.05.png
Screenshot 2020-11-19 at 22.49.05.png (223 KiB) Viewed 9354 times

Changes from the rev2 are a switch from Altera to Xilinx CPLDs (this has taken the biggest time), a move to full address bus decoding to allow more features and most significantly a switch from the demonstration 2x512kB SRAM chips to DRAM.

http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/2622018.pdf

I've never worked with DRAM before so would appreciate any tips going. As I understand things, I'll need to take care of the following:

* Proper initialisation of the two chips;
* Triggering the refresh at the appropriate intervals;
* Decoding address bus requests to a two-step row address then column address, plus any bank and chip selects;
* Handling/ignoring/terminating the 'burst';
* Getting the whole variable bus size and caching logic right since I'm now moving up to a 32 bit data bus.

In effect, I've done none of those before, bar a little bit of the logic on the last one to not ruin the cache when reading 8-bit values from the current 16-bit bus but I've routed all the DRAM pins bar the data bus (which goes through level converters to talk to the 030) to the CPLD so I don't repeat the mistake of tying high or low something that I later actually need to control. Hopefully it can all be worked out in firmware, therefore.