Simple ST2VGA adapter

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Post Reply
Methanoid
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:53 am

Simple ST2VGA adapter

Post by Methanoid » Thu Apr 29, 2021 9:35 pm

Was wondering differences between the IN STOCK ST2VGA and the UNAVAILABLE UbeSwitch

I can see the Ube
--adds trim pots for colour - are they needed?
--adds volume control - most monitors or speakers have this dont they?
--autodetection of resolution (in software) - no idea if this works, last time I looked at it, it was a WIP

can you change the jumper with ST switched on? ISTR it just resets for Hi or Lo/Med resolutions - is there a reason it doesnt have a slider rather than a jumper?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14826
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Simple ST2VGA adapter

Post by exxos » Thu Apr 29, 2021 9:41 pm

UBE info is here... viewtopic.php?f=27&t=161&p=708

As to if you need a volume control and other features, really depends down to user preference.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

Methanoid
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:53 am

Re: Simple ST2VGA adapter

Post by Methanoid » Tue May 04, 2021 12:16 pm

Thanks, I bought it and it arrived (quickly, thanks!)

Havent dug out my 15kHz monitor yet but plugged VGA into monitor. I got vertical bars which I have seen before on STs. I am pretty sure its NOT the adapter but there is some fix (as Ive had it before years ago).

Can you suggest fixes please?

20210504_111755.jpg
20210504_111755.jpg (455.4 KiB) Viewed 233 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14826
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Simple ST2VGA adapter

Post by exxos » Tue May 04, 2021 12:37 pm

Methanoid wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 12:16 pm
Can you suggest fixes please?
This question comes up every couple of weeks, other than changing scaling on your monitor which may be causing vertical bands, or invest in a more modern motherboard like the H5. such faults are just inherent design faults in the original motherboards and are not really easily solvable.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

czietz
Posts: 399
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: Simple ST2VGA adapter

Post by czietz » Tue May 04, 2021 1:01 pm

In almost all cases these bands are caused merely by incorrect monitor settings. Try the "auto" setting button. If that doesn't work, try adjusting the setting that might be called "clock" or "pitch" : http://www.techmind.org/lcd/phasexplan.html

Methanoid
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:53 am

Re: Simple ST2VGA adapter

Post by Methanoid » Tue May 04, 2021 1:04 pm

czietz wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 1:01 pm
In almost all cases these bands are caused merely by incorrect monitor settings. Try the "auto" setting button. If that doesn't work, try adjusting the setting that might be called "clock" or "pitch" : http://www.techmind.org/lcd/phasexplan.html
Thanks, thats the sort of thing I did a few years back to fix the issue... Will try

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”