BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau » Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:45 pm

The MAX10 has an internal flash so you don't need an external eeprom to store the code.
So you use the JTAG connection to either push the code to the RAM to test ro the flash when done.
There is probably a few pins to connect to ground/vcc to select which mode you're in.
I haven't look at it closely .
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:48 pm

rpineau wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:45 pm
The MAX10 has an internal flash so you don't need an external eeprom to store the code.
So you use the JTAG connection to either push the code to the RAM to test ro the flash when done.
There is probably a few pins to connect to ground/vcc to select which mode you're in.
I haven't look at it closely .
So just need to add JTAG connector like normal then..

But at what point does the eeprom come into it all, looks like the cyclone uses it, but why ? Maybe devices get to large for internal flash or something ? :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:29 am

Some FGPA do not have internal flash, or not enough to hold the whole code. That's when they need external EEPROM.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by Smonson » Sat Sep 08, 2018 1:11 am

exxos wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:48 pm
But at what point does the eeprom come into it all, looks like the cyclone uses it, but why ? Maybe devices get to large for internal flash or something ? :shrug:
Another reason is that the end user's total flash storage space requirement is not known, so this way they can choose an appropriately-sized flash device that includes the fpga configuration data, program code for soft CPUs, and other data assets all in one device.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:30 am

Smonson wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 1:11 am
Another reason is that the end user's total flash storage space requirement is not known, so this way they can choose an appropriately-sized flash device that includes the fpga configuration data, program code for soft CPUs, and other data assets all in one device.
Makes sense, though also annoying as its a extra part.. I assume the next part from the MAXX10 series is the cyclone and all those need external flash. thankfully I am ok for now. Though when cores start getting more integrated, I will have to go with cyclone..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

mrbombermillzy
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:37 pm

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by mrbombermillzy » Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:07 am

exxos wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:14 pm
Well, one thing to bare in mind , is the blitter "isn't" a video generator of any kind.. it doesn't really know anything of resolutions and colours.. its a device to basically shift and edit blocks of data to and from ram quickly... There may not be any other functions which could be added...
Yeah, dont mind me. I should just quit posting stuff. For some reason I was thinking of a Shifter re-creation. Even then some of that stuff was pushing it a bit :oops:

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:49 pm

Spending today routing this board...

Buffers on top of the board (red layer) and FPGA on bottom (blue layer).
c1.JPG
c1.JPG (73.62 KiB) Viewed 452 times

Top route highlighted.
d1.JPG
d1.JPG (57.58 KiB) Viewed 452 times

Bottom route highlighted.
d2.JPG
d2.JPG (58.79 KiB) Viewed 452 times

So routing should be doable, albeit very time consuming..

I still need to add the 3.3V regulator and JTAG header, but also much routing to do yet anyway..

I might be able to squash the regulator in a corner.. though the JTAG header will take a lot of room, I *might* just have some solder wires on the pcb as once programmed it shouldn't need editing again anyway.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:57 pm

Isn't part of the idea of using a FPGA is to be able to also add new function to the blitter .. thus reprograming it as needed ... which requires a JTAG header ... sorry to be a party pooper ;)
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:06 pm

rpineau wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:57 pm
Isn't part of the idea of using a FPGA is to be able to also add new function to the blitter .. thus reprograming it as needed ... which requires a JTAG header ... sorry to be a party pooper ;)
Yeah, but when/if that will happen ? Not important for now really either way.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos » Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:43 pm

Getting there...

Nice space right in the middle for the 3.3V reg :)

top.jpg
top.jpg (134.51 KiB) Viewed 428 times
bot.jpg
bot.jpg (121.03 KiB) Viewed 428 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply