MMU address line resistors changed to 68ohms. Why?

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Post Reply
Atarian Computing
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

MMU address line resistors changed to 68ohms. Why?

Post by Atarian Computing » Sat May 26, 2018 7:14 pm

I started working on a 520STM, without floppy. Everything seems to work but I noticed that someone had replaced the original 33ohm resistors on the address lines to 68ohms. The memory is the standard 512K that I plan to upgrade to 1MB via piggyback method.

Question is, why would one need to replace these resistors and what implications are there for having 68ohms?
InkedResistors_LI.jpg
InkedResistors_LI.jpg (2.28 MiB) Viewed 757 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8514
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: MMU address line resistors changed to 68ohms. Why?

Post by exxos » Sat May 26, 2018 8:45 pm

Probably someone didn't know what they were doing and put wrong ones back in.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Atarian Computing
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: MMU address line resistors changed to 68ohms. Why?

Post by Atarian Computing » Sat May 26, 2018 9:08 pm

exxos wrote:
Sat May 26, 2018 8:45 pm
Probably someone didn't know what they were doing and put wrong ones back in.
Wonder why they would do that... You can't see from the picture but they actually snipped the original resistors off and soldered these on the stumps. I guess I'll just put 33 ohm ones back in.

Petari
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: MMU address line resistors changed to 68ohms. Why?

Post by Petari » Sun May 27, 2018 7:46 am

I'm not sure that reason is some mistake or lack of 33 Ohm resistors. Little larger values causing better noise suppression.
Not to mention that people who doesn't know what doing normally changes not resistors just like that. Even less likely is that resistors were ever removed - with plan to put same ones back.
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”