Dual Tos Fast switcher...

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:59 pm

Mine arrived this morning...

Fitted it and appears to be working...

Just to check does it default to 1.62 and needs the 2 pins bridging for 2.06?

Ta

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8560
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by exxos » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:16 pm

Shugs81 wrote:
Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:59 pm
Just to check does it default to 1.62 and needs the 2 pins bridging for 2.06?
There isn't any "default" as such as depends which order the 2 ROM images were placed when I created the files, so can't be assumed either way.

You bridge the 2 contacts to change the ROM (has to be done with power off btw).
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:23 pm

Ahh... Didn't realise that... Also misread the text about it... Thought it was saying the highest version... But as you say its how they are placed on the rom itself..

Cool.. Thank you! Its awesome... Will try the booster board tomorrow!! 😁

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:43 pm

Shugs81 wrote:
Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:23 pm
Ahh... Didn't realise that... Also misread the text about it... Thought it was saying the highest version... But as you say its how they are placed on the rom itself..

Cool.. Thank you! Its awesome... Will try the booster board tomorrow!! 😁
Booster board, best advice I can give you is to be patient. Do not rush this job, especially removal of the PLCC socket.

If you damage anything at all you can easily brick your STE.

The guide by exxos is here: http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V1STE/index.htm
My install guide is here: http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V ... /index.htm
And the guide by nukebloodaxe: http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V ... /index.htm

Read all three, it will help you get it done right.

Good luck.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:06 pm

This forum needs a thanks button!!!

Cheers for the advice! will get reading up!

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:31 am

Shugs81 wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:06 pm
This forum needs a thanks button!!!

Cheers for the advice! will get reading up!
No worries. I think mine may have actually been the first one installed and working, so I know it can be done as long as you don't rush it, and the results are noticeable, about 20-25% performance boost in 3d games. 2D games, not so much (I did post some comparison vids on FB, but can't find them now), but the overall speed boost is definitely worth it.

EDIT: Found the comparison videos https://www.facebook.com/groups/1331613 ... cation=ufi
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:59 am

Still needs a thanks button!! 😁

The only 3d game I have at the moment is robocop 3 and its frankly awful...

I'm planning to use it for music so the extra cpu will help a lot! 😁

But I still have plenty of games too :)

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:00 pm

Hmm... fitted everything... power didn't blow up!! (woot!) green light comes on the keyboard but i get no picture...

what have i broken and how do i find out?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8560
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by exxos » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:25 pm

flux all connections and resolder them ?.. make sure ROM socket & rom is in right way ? Changed jumper links on motherboard ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:35 pm

Jumper links???

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”