Dual Tos Fast switcher...

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
DoG
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by DoG » Tue Jul 31, 2018 12:37 am

On the motherboard. To the right of the roms. W102, W103 and W104 should all be linked 2-3. Middle-Right
ste_pcb.gif
ste_pcb.gif (2.45 KiB) Viewed 1086 times

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1482
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:56 am

Shugs81 wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:35 pm
Jumper links???
Here is a photo of mine:
Jumpers.jpg
Jumpers.jpg (255.79 KiB) Viewed 1076 times
What you'll likely have rather than jumpers, are zero ohm links, which look like this:
zero.jpeg
zero.jpeg (9.75 KiB) Viewed 1076 times
However you can see clearly from the picture the position that the jumpers are in, with pins 2-3 connected.

If you are desoldering the zero ohm links, then I'd suggest you may as well also install jumpers as I have.

BTW, is it just the TOS switcher you have installed at present, or have you also installed the booster too?
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:02 am

Booster too... Hope it is the jumpers!! Shame I've got to wait till I finish work to mess about...

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:04 am

Oh arse... I've just realised it worked with just the dual tos in it...

I've buggered the booster... Meh...

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1482
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:48 am

Shugs81 wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:04 am
Oh arse... I've just realised it worked with just the dual tos in it...

I've buggered the booster... Meh...
I wouldn't decide it's the booster just yet.

Make sure the TOS switcher is correctly seated if in sockets, you may even want to eliminate it by putting the original 2 ROM set back in whilst you're troubleshooting, it will eliminate one component from the investigation.

Take your time and flux/resolder the connections, check all the wires are correctly connected, buzz them out if you need to, check the CPU is fitted in the correct orientation, make sure that there are no solder whiskers causing shorts (Magnifying glass essential) and to begin with, run it in 8Mhz mode to make sure it runs as a normal STE.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:45 pm

Just a thought... If I've put the wires on for switches... But no switches... will that cause issues?

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1482
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:50 pm

Shugs81 wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:45 pm
Just a thought... If I've put the wires on for switches... But no switches... will that cause issues?
Depends what the end of the wires are touching. Just put on some insulating tape on the loose ends of the wires, so they can't touch anything, and test at 8Mhz before you move on. If it won't work at 8Mhz, then it won't at 32Mhz, so you need to run down what the problem is first.

Do you have any photos of the booster installation, so the underside of the mainboard, and the booster itself. Also worth trying it with the original CPU installed to see if that works at 8Mhz.

Go over your install with reference to this: http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V1STE/index.htm to make sure everything is correct.

To force 8Mhz you'll need to connect the SW wire from the booster to GND, for that just use the GND ring that runs around the edge of the mainboard.

If you've connected the wire from the booster to the TOS switcher, you may well want to remove that until 8Mhz operation is verified.

You may also want to check this from the above linked page: "It has come to my attention ( here ) that some STE's may have a 74S257chip for U405. This chip does not output correct TTL voltages to drive the booster. As such the machine will likely be unstable or not boot. This IC should be replaced with a 74F257 IC. "
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8543
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by exxos » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:56 pm

I would solder the SW pad to 0V somewhere to force 8MHz mode and see if that works first of all. You can leave CE disconnected for that test.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Shugs81
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by Shugs81 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:08 am

Nards... I have the 74s257 chip... I was determined to check that beforehand cause I thought at the time I would have it cause its just my luck... But obviously I forgot... I'll report back once I get the new chip.. Meh...

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8543
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Dual Tos Fast switcher...

Post by exxos » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:20 am

Shugs81 wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:08 am
Nards... I have the 74s257 chip... I was determined to check that beforehand cause I thought at the time I would have it cause its just my luck... But obviously I forgot... I'll report back once I get the new chip.. Meh...
If your not working at 8MHz then the chip isn't relevant at this point.. you can rule it out just by leaving off the 32MHz wire to the booster and connect SW to GND to enable 8MHz...

Mostly issues are bad soldering jobs I have seen on the boosters, or damage to the motherboard when removing the socket.. You will have to check every CPU pin to some other ICs like the ROM sockets, you can check most of the address and databus that way so it would be a start.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”