NEC MultiSync EA190M

All information relating to connecting your ST to a modern TV/monitor.
Steve
Posts: 1562
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by Steve » Thu Oct 28, 2021 12:39 pm

@thesofa @exxos

The monitor manuals rarely ever say 15khz, check out the 15khz monitor wiki: http://15khz.wikidot.com/

It lists the 190M as 'partial' support which looks about right.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 17150
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 28, 2021 12:47 pm

If I remember rightly, not all monitors are created equally despite the same model number.

I think the trick would just be to find a older TV / monitor which has VGA input.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

thesofa
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa » Thu Oct 28, 2021 1:23 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu Oct 28, 2021 12:47 pm
If I remember rightly, not all monitors are created equally despite the same model number.

I think the trick would just be to find a older TV / monitor which has VGA input.
I think I have found one here
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/224514845624 ... SwLqJg2vEX
Just ordered it
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!

User avatar
JezC
Posts: 1415
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by JezC » Thu Oct 28, 2021 1:27 pm

@thesofa Nice find! It will be good to hear how you find it to be with your setup.

I've watched the listing in case they are worth buying in the near future.... ;)

thesofa
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa » Thu Oct 28, 2021 3:54 pm

@JezC It will be about a week before it gets here
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!

Badwolf
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by Badwolf » Thu Oct 28, 2021 4:03 pm

Joining in with this necrothread...

I have a 1970NXp. Same interface, same scaling effects in low res evident in Exxos' screenshots.

Seems to go OK for occasional 15kHz use, but I wouldn't really recommend it unless it fell in your lap dirt cheap. Doesn't seem to like interlaced modes.

The manual also states it's a 31kHz minimum. I'd guess all these NEC multisyncs are basically the same chipset and will likely all behave the same way.

Cheers,

BW.
@thetechnoshed
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)

thesofa
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa » Thu Oct 28, 2021 4:15 pm

How does £36.79 sound incl delivery?
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!

thesofa
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa » Tue Dec 14, 2021 4:31 pm

thesofa wrote:
Thu Oct 28, 2021 1:23 pm
exxos wrote:
Thu Oct 28, 2021 12:47 pm
If I remember rightly, not all monitors are created equally despite the same model number.

I think the trick would just be to find a older TV / monitor which has VGA input.
I think I have found one here
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/224514845624 ... SwLqJg2vEX
Just ordered it
It has arrived and is now finally set up after waiting 2 months for ST2VGA from Centurion, I have tested it both on My TT and on the STE and it works fine in all resolutions on both machines and it was £36.79 incl delivery
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!

Post Reply

Return to “DISPLAYS & CONVERTERS”