NEC Multisync LCD

All information relating to connecting your ST to a modern TV/monitor.
User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

NEC Multisync LCD

Post by IngoQ » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:23 am

...continuation from thread here: viewtopic.php?f=39&t=876#p6386
mrbombermillzy wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:30 pm
Thats all well, (I have an NEC 1990FXp, fairly similar to your monitor) however, its not really what I was trying to achieve. Was really after the extra pixels! :D
Just out of personal interest, can you can confirm, that the 1990FXP handles 15Khz like i.e. the 1990SXi does, including adjustment options for 1:1 scaling etc.? There are a couple of them available on ebay right now, and I am thinking of getting one...
Ingo :geek:

| Atari 1040STE@32MHz | Amiga 1200 (ACA1220) | Atari 800XL (U1MB, SIDE2) | Atari 130XL (Sophia DVI) | C64 (1541 Ultimate II, Rev3 RFMod Replacement) | TI 99/4A (F18A, 32k, FlashROM 99) | Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128 (Stereo, DivMMC) | Amstrad CPC664 (512k, M4 Wifi) | ... |

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 497
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by troed » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:03 am

IngoQ wrote:
Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:23 am
mrbombermillzy wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:30 pm
Thats all well, (I have an NEC 1990FXp, fairly similar to your monitor) however, its not really what I was trying to achieve. Was really after the extra pixels! :D
Just out of personal interest, can you can confirm, that the 1990FXP handles 15Khz like i.e. the 1990SXi does, including adjustment options for 1:1 scaling etc.? There are a couple of them available on ebay right now, and I am thinking of getting one...
Well I can confirm 15KHz, don't know about other settings. My favorite is still the Dell 2001FP when it comes to picture quality, but the Nec is better in that it doesn't need "nudging" every boot to center the picture ...

User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by IngoQ » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:45 am

Sadly I only have a Dell 2007, which does not handle 15Khz, although it has composite and even S-Video inputs... And its resolution is too high.

Right now I route everything under 31kHz through the Framemeister, which is not bad. But it means I have to switch inputs, since the Framemeister doesn't like 31kHz on its SCART-input...
Ingo :geek:

| Atari 1040STE@32MHz | Amiga 1200 (ACA1220) | Atari 800XL (U1MB, SIDE2) | Atari 130XL (Sophia DVI) | C64 (1541 Ultimate II, Rev3 RFMod Replacement) | TI 99/4A (F18A, 32k, FlashROM 99) | Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128 (Stereo, DivMMC) | Amstrad CPC664 (512k, M4 Wifi) | ... |

User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by IngoQ » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:59 am

Had a look at some manuals, seems like only the NEC 1990SX and 1990SXi offer options to adjust the scaling.
Ingo :geek:

| Atari 1040STE@32MHz | Amiga 1200 (ACA1220) | Atari 800XL (U1MB, SIDE2) | Atari 130XL (Sophia DVI) | C64 (1541 Ultimate II, Rev3 RFMod Replacement) | TI 99/4A (F18A, 32k, FlashROM 99) | Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128 (Stereo, DivMMC) | Amstrad CPC664 (512k, M4 Wifi) | ... |

Atarian Computing
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by Atarian Computing » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:34 am

Not all monitors are created equal.

I have a Dell 2001FP that won't do 15Khz (manufactured after 2005)
My NEC 1550M won't do 15khz although many report that their's do
My NEC 1990SXi won't do 15khz when several say their's do
My BenQ 702 is currently the only monitor I have that can do 15khz.

I guess I'm just unlucky.

User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by IngoQ » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:40 am

I guess, I stick with my current solution then ;) Already have too many displays standing around...
Ingo :geek:

| Atari 1040STE@32MHz | Amiga 1200 (ACA1220) | Atari 800XL (U1MB, SIDE2) | Atari 130XL (Sophia DVI) | C64 (1541 Ultimate II, Rev3 RFMod Replacement) | TI 99/4A (F18A, 32k, FlashROM 99) | Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128 (Stereo, DivMMC) | Amstrad CPC664 (512k, M4 Wifi) | ... |

mrbombermillzy
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:37 pm

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by mrbombermillzy » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:43 pm

@IngoQ:

Yes the 1990FXp does pretty well. As Ive mentioned before (on AF fairly recently I think) it will handle most of the funky Amiga modes (15Khz and up) but NOT any of the interlace ones. So the 3 Atari ST modes are possible.

I THINK it scales 1:1 although Im not 100% sure. It may be a long while until I can check... Maybe better off asking Troed about this. :)

User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by IngoQ » Sun Jun 17, 2018 2:07 pm

Just received a NEC 1970NXP, which so far does fine with Amiga resolutions and ST high. Will order a UBE switch some time soon and then do a small writeup about it in the displays and converters section.
Ingo :geek:

| Atari 1040STE@32MHz | Amiga 1200 (ACA1220) | Atari 800XL (U1MB, SIDE2) | Atari 130XL (Sophia DVI) | C64 (1541 Ultimate II, Rev3 RFMod Replacement) | TI 99/4A (F18A, 32k, FlashROM 99) | Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128 (Stereo, DivMMC) | Amstrad CPC664 (512k, M4 Wifi) | ... |

Atarian Computing
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by Atarian Computing » Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:15 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Sun Jun 17, 2018 2:07 pm
Just received a NEC 1970NXP, which so far does fine with Amiga resolutions and ST high. Will order a UBE switch some time soon and then do a small writeup about it in the displays and converters section.
Just bought 3 1990FX monitors. Yet to receive them. Hopefully they will do 15khz.

User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: TT Software overscan?

Post by IngoQ » Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:20 pm

Only downside I have found so far: There is no adjustment for the scaler. It seems to automatically scale for horizontal resolution, which is fine, as long the vertical resolution fits the screen. If not, you're screwed :) You can adjust horizontal size but not vertical. In the Amiga Budbrain Megademo for example, some parts of the frame are missing.
Ingo :geek:

| Atari 1040STE@32MHz | Amiga 1200 (ACA1220) | Atari 800XL (U1MB, SIDE2) | Atari 130XL (Sophia DVI) | C64 (1541 Ultimate II, Rev3 RFMod Replacement) | TI 99/4A (F18A, 32k, FlashROM 99) | Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128 (Stereo, DivMMC) | Amstrad CPC664 (512k, M4 Wifi) | ... |

Post Reply

Return to “DISPLAYS & CONVERTERS”