Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Tool suggestions, soldering tips, general useful electronics knowhow.
troed
Software Moderator
Software Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by troed » Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:45 am

It's a little more than 10GBP, but I'm very happy with my DSLogic USB LA.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by rpineau » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:16 pm

I used both a Logic 8 and a Logic Pro 16 from Saleae. I did test a bunch of cheap ones (up to 32 channel like exxos, we had the same one) just to see them fail miserably and not work as expected. I think buying the Saleae Logic Pro 16 was the best thing I did to help me debug the 68020 board.
If you're only doing tests on Arduino and slow micro-controllers, the cheap LA might be ok (assuming they have proper input protection), but after that, if you need to do some serious (amateur serious .. not Pro 16 layer board debugging serious), you'll run into issues (harware quality, software, ....).
Just my 2 cents.
Rodolphe
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:50 am

Out of interest, part way down this page is a logic analyser for the ST http://www.gossuin.be/index.php/shop.
I have now also acquired one of the cheap ones and hope to get to test it soon.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by PhilC » Sun Dec 02, 2018 12:13 pm

Appart from diagnosing new boards etc, would you say that an LA is of much use for fixing retro computers?

ijor
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by ijor » Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:39 pm

Logic Pro are great products, but IMHO they are quite overpriced unless you need two specific features. All the inputs are both digital and analog, and it works with USB 3.0 streaming. The latter means you can capture an enormous amount of data. If you don't need those features, there are much more affordable options, yet with similar quality and specs.
http://github.com/ijor/fx68k 68000 cycle exact FPGA core
FX CAST Cycle Accurate Atari ST core
http://pasti.fxatari.com

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1031
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by terriblefire » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:19 pm

I use an HP1661CS. There is nothing as good for the money.

Just my 2 pence...

It’s not budget but if you are going past 2-3Mhz the DuPont wire probes are no use. They’re effectively 1:1 probes with all the documented issues you get with those.

The Old HPs can be picked up for 100-300 GBP. Each wire is a 1:100 probe... Well worth it. Plus they’re indestructible and have service manuals etc.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

tzok
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by tzok » Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:29 pm

Recently I was trying to diagnose my... diagnostic cart with a Logic Analyzer (Logic-8 clone). I did it, but not in the way I'd like to. All lines were looking legit on the LA software, but I realized that, with probes connected, cart behaves differently. So I started disconnecting the probes, one by one and observing if this affects behavior of the cart. In this way I've found one pin which was causing troubles, which led me to finding a "cold" solder joint. After all I much prefer DSO over LA for diagnostics.

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by kludge » Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:22 pm

It all depends on what you'll be using the LA for. I have one of the cheap Chinese clones and it was a huge help trying to determine how to interface an Arduino to an old Texas Instruments TI-74 BASICALC. I only had to keep track of about 6 signals and the bitrate is quite low, so the device was definitely enough for that. I haven't hooked it up to anything faster, though :)
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 615
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by PaulJ » Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:54 pm

I have an 16 channel Chinese LA also and in some cases its quite effective but if its a higher freq signal and loading is a factor its usually ineffective or useless. Never the less it is helpful but I plan on upgrading to a HP analyzer at some point... most like when the Chinese LA lets me down.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1031
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Logic Analyser on the Cheap

Post by terriblefire » Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:44 pm

I recently (3 weeks ago) picked up a second HP1661CS Scope for $50 + shipping (which was $70). I cant recommend them enough
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Post Reply