Problem with autoboot.

News,announcements,programming,fixes,game patches & discussions.

Moderator: Petari

Post Reply
guus.assmann
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:52 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Problem with autoboot.

Post by guus.assmann » Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:23 pm

This board has an IDE interface, as well as a programmable Tos.
Both are working fine, to some extent that is.
The IDE interface will not autoboot, despite the fact that I've changed the Tos as per instructions from PPera.
It will boot nicely, if I put the driver on a diskette, the auto-folder.
And yes, it's got the twisted cable, hence the modifications in Tos.

I also have another board, with the same hardware (Made by Mega-Hz)
This one has a 1 to 1 cable and the same kind of IDE-interfaced to an CF-card.
And that one does autoboot.

Any idea how to get this fixed?
I do use two different CF-cards. (of course)
And I do have quite a number more of those to test with.

BR/
Guus
Attachments
IMG_0520.JPG
IMG_0520.JPG (2.63 MiB) Viewed 174 times

Petari
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: Problem with autoboot.

Post by Petari » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:29 am

Who is that sod PPera ? :lol: Yep, that's obviously IDE adapter, because of cable and CF card. And I guess that there is option for TOS 2.06 use. 2 GALs ? I solved it all with 1. Anyway, if it runs well driver for twisted cable from floppy, and does not autoboot it, then something is not OK with TOS ROM twisted cable autoboot patch.
Quote from site :
"New patches made in Nov. 2008 : dual boot - from regular and twisted cable IDE, fast boot, only 1 driver installation for both types. For TOS 2.06, 1.04, KAOS 1.4.2 , TOS 1.62/1.06 .
The code: SRC for TOS 1.04 all patches with instructions in 1 archive" (TOSIDEP2.ZIP) .
If you can give here what TOS, how exactly you patched, we can be closer to solving the problem.

guus.assmann
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:52 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Re: Problem with autoboot.

Post by guus.assmann » Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:37 pm

Hello Petari,

I did use the description for the version V2.0 double sided.
And this uses one Gal. (The 2 Gals are from another interface that just happened to be in the MegaST, hence another thread)
I've modiefied the Tos2.06 as per the attached document.
The IDE-Led does blink during boot.
And when I load the driver for the twisted cable, I can access the CF-Card and copy, start programes etc. No problem.
(The partition program doesn't work on this one either.)

BR/
Guus
Attachments
TOS 2.06 mod.zip
(7.69 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

Petari
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: Problem with autoboot.

Post by Petari » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:08 pm

If you can dump so modded TOS 2.06 ... Then I can check is everything on place.
Or rather try this: atari.8bitchip.info/TOSIDEP2.ZIP

guus.assmann
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:52 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Re: Problem with autoboot.

Post by guus.assmann » Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:13 pm

Hello Petari,

Please find attached files.
The 206TWCLK is modded as per the PDF-file.
It doesn't acheive autoboot with a twisted cable, but still works ok if I start the driver manually or from a diskette in Auto-folder.

The T206Dub is modded as in TOSIDEP2.
It doesn't work ok.

I have made a couple other interfaces.
And those do work, autoboot with original TOS206 and 1-1 cable.
With twisted cable no boot.
However, I can exchange the CF-Card between 1-1 and twisted cable if....
I will continue testing tomorrow and see where it takes me.
And I'll post some pictures of what I've got, just to show what it looks like.

BR/
Guus
Attachments
T206DUB.zip
Modded as per TOSIDEP2
(128.24 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
206TWCLK.zip
Modded as per PDF file
(128.04 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

Petari
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: Problem with autoboot.

Post by Petari » Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:27 am

None of your patches is even remotely good. Here is UK TOS 2.06 with dual IDE boot patch - so will autoboot from twisted or regular IDE cable.
T206UKDB.ZIP
(127.06 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

guus.assmann
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:52 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Problem with autoboot.

Post by guus.assmann » Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:22 am

Hello Petari,

Thanks, I'll test and inform of the results.

It's not clear to me where it went wrong.
Do you have any idea what was not correct?
As always, I want to learn.

BR/
Guus

Petari
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: Problem with autoboot.

Post by Petari » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:06 am

guus.assmann wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:22 am
...
It's not clear to me where it went wrong.
Do you have any idea what was not correct?
As always, I want to learn.
...
Use some Hex editor/viewer to see that changes are not done at proper addresses, and not even proper values written. Additionally, what is at offset $3FA00 is not IDE code, but copy of TOS 2.06 begin. In short, nothing is done right in your file T206DUB.BIN .
In other file *WCLK.IMG there are 2 bad writes - offset $1E91 and $1F43 .
Best is that you get Total Commander - if did not use it yet, and use it's file compare option - then can quickly find differences.
I spent half hours on something what everyone should do self - really. Do you think that I'm happy now, that I found it ? No, I will be happy to see people realizing some things self. To answer your question, what was not correct: you just did not check result of your work.

guus.assmann
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:52 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Re: Problem with autoboot.

Post by guus.assmann » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:24 am

Hello Petari,

Thanks for the answer and your time. :D
And in reply, I did do (quite a lot) of checking. :(
The file WCLK.IMG has changes on the correct spots. This is to change the RTC (offset) settings, I found that patch somewhere. (I think it was in Do-it-ST.)

The T206DUB.BIn file is what has puzzled me a lot.
I did use an editor that's with the Eprom Programmer. (ALL-003 from HiLo-Products)
And I did check if the changes were on the right position.
The boards do work with this Tos in them, just no auto-boot.
The problem may have been that I choose to use a number of steps to get the OS into the Flash.
From USB to laptop, back to usb, to another PC, then to floppy. From Floppy to MegaST and into Flash. (= 3 different systems/computers)

As for asking for help, it's quite strange.
Once a problem is found, it's mostly a very small and simple thing.
But when you're trying to find it, one won't see it, even if it's in plain sight and totally obvious.
When I see smoke, than there's no doubt. But otherwise..... Anyway, I think you get the picture.
Attachments
IMG_0522.JPG
IMG_0522.JPG (2.62 MiB) Viewed 87 times

Post Reply