TOS max 14 partitions (logical drives) limit

News,announcements,programming,fixes,game patches & discussions.

Moderator: Petari

Post Reply
Petari
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

TOS max 14 partitions (logical drives) limit

Post by Petari » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:02 am

It is known that TOS can handle max 14 hard disk partitions (logical drives) in range C-P . That should be enough for normal usage, but there are cases when more would be welcome - I guess in first place when you have 2 cards inserted in UltraSatan, and total count of partitions is over 14. My driver SW will ignore partitions over P, and that's good, because attempt to access them will cause crash, may be even danger of data corruption. They should really add simple code what ignores all such attempts totally.
I looked about that limit in TOS code: things are that there is simply no space provided in GEMDOS workspace for more partitions. If try to attempt partition over P, it will destroy some variables, what may have unpredictable (harmful) effect . Solution would be to add more space, of course . But that will break complete RAM usage of AES then, and of course decrease available RAM for SW. I'm really disappointed again, how this problem is neglected by Atari .
Thinking about some reasonable solution .. Since nobody will need all, let's say 25 partitions on 2 cards at once, solution would be to let user to select those which needs in that session, max 14, of course. Something like:
Select active partitions, max 14 totally:
Physical order on cards.
Card 1: C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K. L. M, N, O, P
Card 2: C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J .
I use C as start by both just because it is easier so to know what partition on concrete card is it . When it will be mounted, letters for partitions from second card will start not with C, but first letter after last active part. of card 1. That will allow file transfers too.

In case of using 2 diverse driver SW, for instance when there is 1 IDE and some ACSI drive used at once, this can work too, but little different:
Only with direct runnable driver versions: Let's say that first driver mounts 14 partitions, and we want some data exchange. Then second driver SW must open same selection dialog, and then it will actually deactivate non-selected partitions from first media. That's easy to achieve - Hddriver does it with all of them, without question, btw.

Considering age of machines, it is wise to use only 1 storage media at once in normal work. That means 8 GB card well utilized (except old TOS versions like 1.00-1.02) . So, I really don't see need to go on more than 14 partitions. With improved FAT16 it can be 16 GB, because max part. size is 1 GB .
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: TOS max 14 partitions (logical drives) limit

Post by exxos » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:03 am

I think problem with low TOS versions is limited to small partition sizes, so people go for more drives.. but with your patches, users can use larger partitions, so do people really need more drive letters in that case ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Petari
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: TOS max 14 partitions (logical drives) limit

Post by Petari » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:27 am

It's not low TOS versions only . Even TT TOS 3.06 has same, 512 MB limit.
I talked mostly about case when more than 1 media is attached. How to solve file transfers.
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

Petari
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: TOS max 14 partitions (logical drives) limit

Post by Petari » Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:23 am

Active partition selection dialog should look like:
actpsel.png
actpsel.png (2.54 KiB) Viewed 176 times
It will appear always when total partition count is over 14 - then user can select which will be active. Column SEL shows what drive letter it will be.
There may be some special keys for 'select all' - then will actually select only first media partitions. Only second media ... Load preconfigured .
If there is no more than 14, dialog may appear by some keypress too, then may discard some partitions - so will mount only some, which user want to access.
And of course, option to swap C partition with any higher will be still there - only that it will be not with physical ones, but selected ones.
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

Petari
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: TOS max 14 partitions (logical drives) limit

Post by Petari » Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:49 pm

Thanx to colder weather I was able to perform some serious tracing. And was able to fix code, so it can now handle 30 hard disk partitions (total 32 logical drives) . But it needs little more RAM, so 30 partitions only with TOS 1.56 - 1.66 - those with TOS 2.06 Desktop - what will save user from entering impossible characters for log. drives over Z too .
32logDrv.png
32logDrv.png (21.51 KiB) Viewed 127 times
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

Post Reply