MSTE vs STE TOS206

Benchmark screenshots for various boosters & machines.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by exxos » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:02 pm

16MHz CACHE OFF
MSTE16_result.png
MSTE16_result.png (4.25 KiB) Viewed 466 times

16MHz CACHE ON
MSTE16CA_result.png
MSTE16CA_result.png (4.3 KiB) Viewed 466 times

16MHz CACHE ON - BLITTER OFF (MSTE VS ST SPEEDS)
mstenb.jpg
mstenb.jpg (102.39 KiB) Viewed 297 times

Just for reference, ST vs ST with blitter ON.
stb.JPG
stb.JPG (257.04 KiB) Viewed 295 times
In terms of cache vs blitter. Blitter makes faster work than using caches. But in above tests MSTE doesn't outperform stock STE.

In terms of ROM access, It should be 200% without cache due to 16MHz speeds, but it only sees speed increase with caches enabled. So MSTE doesn't seem to be running in 16MHz for ROM access. As such GB6 tests show not much speed increase in GEM related tasks.

However, CPU related tests access using cache make much faster work. I copied bob test results from later in thread to show how caching improves CPU & RAM related routines.

Using Frank's blitter demo... viewtopic.php?f=25&t=50

16MHZ CACHE ON

Code: Select all

Blitter render                $1B bobs
CPU shift  blitter active     $11 bobs  
CPU pre-shift blitter active  $1C bobs

16MHZ CACHE OFF

Code: Select all

Blitter render                $1A bobs
CPU shift  blitter active     $0B bobs  
CPU pre-shift blitter active  $13 bobs
8MHZ CACHE OFF

Code: Select all

Blitter render                $1A  bobs
CPU shift  blitter active     $0A  bobs
CPU pre-shift blitter active  $13  bobs
Will ignore 8MHz tests as basically no difference..

So cache on vs cache off..

Code: Select all

Blitter render                 +1 bob
CPU shift  blitter active      +6 bobs
CPU pre-shift blitter active   +9 bobs
So can see CPU operations are faster because of caches.

In terms of unfair test with 40MHz STE (no caches)

Code: Select all

Blitter render                $1B bobs
CPU shift  blitter active     $0C bobs  
CPU pre-shift blitter active  $16 bobs
So results faster than stock machine

Code: Select all

Blitter render                 +1 bob
CPU shift  blitter active      +2 bobs
CPU pre-shift blitter active   +3 bobs
So we can see CPU with caches give +3 bobs( from 10 bobs to 13 bobs) and using pre-shifting, caches come into play for fast copy of data and give +9 bobs (from 19 bobs to 28 bobs) .

So conclusions are tricky with this machine. Anything using blitter in particular with GEM tasks are not showing much speeds over a stock STE. Anything which doesn't use blitter (games for example) will see a reasonable increase in speed due to caches.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by Darklord » Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:49 pm

What am I missing here Chris? I would have thought the boost from an 020 and its
architecture would naturally be expected to be faster?

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by exxos » Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:57 pm

Darklord wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:49 pm
What am I missing here Chris? I would have thought the boost from an 020 and its
architecture would naturally be expected to be faster?
Has a 68000 in there according to GB6.. didn't think any MSTE had a 020 ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by rpineau » Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:05 pm

MSTE is a 68000, not 68020.
TOS 2.06 can work with a 68020 (and even a 68030 :) ).
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by Darklord » Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:52 am

Er sorry for the confusion - was referring to Chris's comment:

" I think a 16MHz 020 would easily outperform the MSTE."

Just thought there wouldn't have been any question about it.

I wasn't implying there was an '020 in Mega STe's. I've got one,
for what it's worth. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
dhedberg
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:21 pm
Contact:

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by dhedberg » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:04 am

Why does the CPU only show 124% with cache OFF? Shouldn't it be close to 200% considering the frequency is 16MHz? What more test is taken into consideration besides integer divison?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

Cyprian
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:16 am

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by Cyprian » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:41 am

dhedberg wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:04 am
Why does the CPU only show 124% with cache OFF? Shouldn't it be close to 200% considering the frequency is 16MHz? What more test is taken into consideration besides integer divison?
I guess RAM/ROM Access is also taken into account
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

Petari
Software Moderator
Software Moderator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by Petari » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:49 am

68020 CPU is faster even at same clock than 68000 - many instructions execute in less clock cycles. But there are some, not much which are slower - like interrupt handling.
Ah, and there is simple solution for slow ROM TOS execution - run it from RAM :D I will benchmark it today afternoon ...
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by exxos » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:43 am

dhedberg wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:04 am
Why does the CPU only show 124% with cache OFF? Shouldn't it be close to 200% considering the frequency is 16MHz? What more test is taken into consideration besides integer divison?

int-div is the only logical result... My V1 booster has ...

Image

Thats a 8/16MHz switch.. the MSTE doesn't even get close to that :roll:

So either the MSTE has a very poor 8/16MHz switch, or CPU is running constant 16MHz with very poor state machine.. :shrug:

Seems to be its not really a 16MHz machine.. Its basically a STE with a cache giving ST-RAM a boost.. and thats pretty much it aside from 16MHz int-div test..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Petari
Software Moderator
Software Moderator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: MSTE vs STE TOS206

Post by Petari » Tue Jul 31, 2018 12:03 pm

Don't like your new Mega STE exxos ? There is solution to get rid off it :lol:
I mean there is much more than + cache and 16 MHz CPU in compare to STE . For instance PSU is much-much better. Then better case, overall quality. I will not repeat what extra features and HW it has.
It has switch for CPU clock and CPU cache - HW register. And it runs then at 16 MHz, with 16 KB cache. With some waits - if data is not in cache must wait. If accessing ROM must wait. So simple. And that explains why integer division is 195% - it works most time internal, with little memory access.
And I must say that GEMbench tests are not really representative. ROM access should be exact 100% at 16 MHz. But RAM access is only 101%, lower than ROM access - and that's not realistic. Of course, real RAM access ratio depends from running SW. It may be 200% if all is in cache. Bad ROM access value is for sure because test code running from RAM, so it execs little faster, but that should be compensated - knowing that code read speed is for sure 200% - it fits in 16 KB RAM, so will execute from cache all time. If you use movem.l with all possible registers, then RAM access %-age will be very low. But even better is to make first RAM access test with known cycle times, then can compensate ROM access execution times with it.
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

Post Reply