PAK030 40MHz

Benchmark screenshots for various boosters & machines.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14458
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

PAK030 40MHz

Post by exxos » Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:13 pm

Courtesy of @Darklord PAK030 running at 40Mhz ST-HIGH

PAK68_3_result.png
PAK68_3_result.png (26.23 KiB) Viewed 205 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by Darklord » Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:45 pm

Oops, beat me to it. I was just waiting to add the medium rez results. :)

Anyway, a little bit of information about my setup. This is a Pak 68/3 board,
installed (it would be more accurate to say "stuffed"!) into my STacy.

I bought this board off Ebay cheap (less than $100). Of course, there's a
catch. When I got the board, several of the pins on the underside were
missing or sheared off. It looked to me like someone had removed it
from a previous installation with *prejudice*. So I initially had Alex at
ATY Computers do some repairs but eventually had to do some of my
own. It worked, but I've never been able to get it to run reliably above
40mhz. When I switch the oscillator to 50mhz it will boot up and run
but it's unstable. Random software crashes (none fatal but still rather
annoying) and glitches. It is rock-solid at 40mhz though so I settled for
that.

I do not have a Frak2 or PuPla2 board installed so it's just ST-RAM.

Maybe someday. :)
Pak 68_3 GB-Benchmark02.PNG
Pak 68_3 GB-Benchmark02.PNG (23.91 KiB) Viewed 187 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by Darklord » Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:54 pm

Here's a couple of pics showing the damaged state the board was in when
I received it. I did give the seller a bad rating. He cried and whined about
it no end, complaining that since I did get it working and it was sold to me
cheap, I had no right to complain.

Whatever. :)

PB210011 - PAK board bottom01.JPG
PB210011 - PAK board bottom01.JPG (30.56 KiB) Viewed 186 times
PB210012 - PAK board bottom02.JPG
PB210012 - PAK board bottom02.JPG (23.79 KiB) Viewed 186 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by Darklord » Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:56 pm

Still curious as to why the "Floating Math" stays at zero?

The board does have a working 40mhz 68882 FPU.

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14458
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by exxos » Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:15 pm

Darklord wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:56 pm
The board does have a working 40mhz 68882 FPU.
The only benchmark file with FPU is the Falcon one.. You're using a STE file which doesn't have a FPU normally, so no data exists to compare it to, thus zero.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by Darklord » Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:32 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:15 pm

The only benchmark file with FPU is the Falcon one.. Your using a STE file which doesn't have a FPU normally, so no data exists to compare it to , thus zero.
Hmm, so could I run it against the Falcon as a benchmark instead of the STe and see the results?

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14458
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by exxos » Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:34 pm

Darklord wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:32 pm
Hmm, so could I run it against the Falcon as a benchmark instead of the STe and see the results?
Yep!
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by Darklord » Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:45 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:34 pm
Yep!
Will do - thanks!
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK030 40MHz

Post by Darklord » Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:02 pm

Okay, same setup, hi-res, stacked up against a Falcon.

PAK68_3F.PNG
PAK68_3F.PNG (26.78 KiB) Viewed 158 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Post Reply

Return to “BENCHMARKS”