2600 JR replacement switches

Any 8bit repairs, images, cool things, upgrades etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

2600 JR replacement switches

Post by exxos » Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:25 am

2600_jr.jpg
2600_jr.jpg (24.08 KiB) Viewed 995 times

While resurrecting my 2600 console from 30 years ago, I noticed it is in dire need of some maintenance and repairs.

First of all, the power supply switch was very intermittent and needed replacing. Unfortunately Atari, yet again, seems to have used some custom switch which is impossible to find due to the offset pinout.

I have seen a few websites dotted around where people have been physically dismantling the switch cleaning it up and reassembling it. I did consider this originally, but the original switches seem very loosely put together I did not want to risk breaking the switch or not been any better after it was cleaned up. So I spent a lot of time looking for a new switch solution which will hopefully be a lot more reliable.

2600_orig.jpg
2600_orig.jpg (79.43 KiB) Viewed 1000 times

The only possible chance of a switch fitting is to use a dual pole switch which is the only switch I can think of which will have offset pins.

2600_comp.jpg
2600_comp.jpg (46.62 KiB) Viewed 1000 times

So simply cutting off the bottom row of three pins as illustrated above, the switch will physically fit the motherboard.

It took some time to find a compatible switch and these will be available in my store. Unfortunately these switches are rather expensive. While investigating options it is madness that you can pay easily £5-£12+ for just a single switch. I think this is just madness and I don't know how they can justify such a high amount the basic switch.

Cheaper switches can be found all over the Internet for anyone who wants to search the switches themselves , but they generally seem to be open frame types which I am not generally happy with as it is to prone to dust and dirt getting on the contacts. So I went for a quality fully enclosed switch which I hope will last a long time. Not only that , the physical dimensions of the switch such as the height switch, and the actual switch lever itself must all fit also.

Changing the switch is very simple, just remove the old one, but the three pins on the new switch, and solder it in.
2600_sr.jpg
2600_sr.jpg (157.22 KiB) Viewed 1000 times

Voilà, new switch in place..
2600_Switch_new.jpg
2600_Switch_new.jpg (161.79 KiB) Viewed 1000 times

I thought which could possibly be done would be to drill three holes on the motherboard (I have not checked that there is no tracks on both sides) and solder the switch straight into the motherboard. Then the left and right contacts could be soldered together. Then basically instead of one switch being used, both sides of the switch will be used, and this could increase the long-term reliability of the switch...


The switches are used can be found in my store.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0125


I also am working on a solution to replace the dreadful push switches on the JR console also. Updates with this will come over the next few weeks..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 JR replacement switches

Post by exxos » Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:57 pm

A update on switches... pcbs on order..

top.png
top.png (9.11 KiB) Viewed 956 times
top2.png
top2.png (9.99 KiB) Viewed 956 times


So what is going on ?

Basically the push switches on top are terrible... The "spring" is just some soft foam which over time compresses and seems to give the impression the switch is not operating or always stuck :roll:

sp.jpg
sp.jpg (24.14 KiB) Viewed 956 times

The switches are basically this flex strip...

flex.jpg
flex.jpg (56.58 KiB) Viewed 956 times

So one PCB I designed pushes into the top plastic section...

ts1.jpg
ts1.jpg (103.63 KiB) Viewed 956 times

Where there will be a small microswitch, similar to the types which are used on mice.. Basically proper clicky switches!

There was huge problems finding a small enough switch as there is only basically 2.6 mm height between the plastic case and the bottom of the switch cover itself.. So after a lot of mathematical guesswork.. I went for a 0.6mm thick PCB which with the height of the switch should *just* fit..

There will actually be 2 PCBs as there is obviously 2 switches.. The next problem is the PCBs are on the top of the case and the contacts need to be on the bottom..

Thankfully there is some small slits where some header pins can poke through the bottom of the plastic case and these will be linked to the second longer PCB which basically replaces the Flex strap. The problem is linking the now solid Flex strap to the motherboard :roll:

Without using wires, which would probably be easier for assembly and disassembly of the thing, I went with long header pins.. These should basically slot into place between the long PCB and the motherboard when the case lid is pushed on.. The problem is that the motherboard header does not seem to be straight or fixed into place very well. So this will probably need glueing to hold it vertically. Otherwise when the case lid is pushed on it will miss the motherboard headers.

Obviously this is a lot easier strap as it is flexible and easily disconnected. In one respect it will be easier to use wires, this is more work and not easily removable. So the header pins is the next logical step. I did look into Flex PCBs but the price is just silly money.

So this setup is the initial prototype to see if it will all physically fit together as I envisioned in my head :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 JR replacement switches

Post by exxos » Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:45 pm

PCBs arrived today :)

I started soldering switches on..

pcb.jpg
pcb.jpg (44.97 KiB) Viewed 872 times

Then checking they physically fit...

pcbf.jpg
pcbf.jpg (91.56 KiB) Viewed 872 times
pcbf2.jpg
pcbf2.jpg (63.06 KiB) Viewed 872 times

First header strips soldered into place.. Notice they must not stick up the PCB at all otherwise it will get in the way of the plastic switch button..

s1.jpg
s1.jpg (61.6 KiB) Viewed 872 times

The pins are then trimmed...

s2.jpg
s2.jpg (59.59 KiB) Viewed 872 times

. And the next header strip soldered into place..

s3.jpg
s3.jpg (60.41 KiB) Viewed 872 times

Notice the red arrow on the image.. The pins must push down flush with the plastic..

When the console is pushed back together, the header pins will push on top of the socket on the motherboard.. You will need a little bit of force to push the black spacer further down the pins. This is why it is important to have the pins flush with the plastic as there will be some force on them, and if the pins do not flush against the plastic it could snap the PCB..

It is all tested and working thankfully :) I do need to make some small tweaks to the PCB as the alignment of the header pins pushing into the motherboard socket or not as good as they could be. But I am happy I now have proper clicky switches :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

walter_j64bit
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:34 am

Re: 2600 JR replacement switches

Post by walter_j64bit » Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:34 am

Nice work on the 2600 JR!

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 JR replacement switches

Post by exxos » Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:34 pm

New revised PCBs arrived.. Not much to look at, but alignment is better and now all seems to fit together nicely :)

Need to find me a guinea pig.. I mean beta tester next 8-)

ns.jpg
ns.jpg (58.32 KiB) Viewed 717 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 JR replacement switches

Post by exxos » Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:38 pm

Jonathan Whiteside Has been kind enough to test the kit out on his 2600.. and he ran into a few issues..

While he has the same 2600 as me, the plastic is different in the switch area..
plastic.jpg
plastic.jpg (73.97 KiB) Viewed 650 times
There are some plastic "bumps" in the top edge of the plastic :shrug: So I have revised the switch PCB so it has the cut outs.

Secondly.. Atari seemed to have used a different connector.. mine are all black and located 2mm to the right. Jon's 2600 has a white connector which is further to the left..
wb.jpg
wb.jpg (136.49 KiB) Viewed 650 times
So I have added in a second row on the bridge PCB so it will align correctly to both connector locations.. So onto getting the 3rd revision boards made next...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 JR replacement switches

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:48 pm

That being said, the new buttons worked perfectly after a small amount of tweaking. :D

It was interesting to note, out of the 2 JRs I have, I happened to have the one with the white connector apart, it wasn't until I opened the second one, I found the black connector.

Same part number and year, I can only assume Atari changed suppliers at some point, and didn't care too much as they were using ribbon cable, so socket position was not relevant. :shrug:
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 JR replacement switches

Post by exxos » Thu May 03, 2018 2:29 pm

New layout PCBs just arrived :)

I will put together kids my store when I get chance. It is still much a BETA design, but all known problems have been addressed by this latest revision. I have enough of the PCBs for about 10 kits..

2.JPG
2.JPG (58.48 KiB) Viewed 371 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply