27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Any 8bit repairs, images, cool things, upgrades etc.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1360
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by terriblefire » Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:04 pm

Great work. This is what all my Amiga's need.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by GadgetUK164 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:53 pm

Looking very cool!!! Super useful if it can be programmed easily enough!
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164

cmorley
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by cmorley » Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:29 pm

I did a PCB to adapter to an Acorn Master MOS (1Mbit 128Kx8 mask ROM). Just sent the PCB order off.
Master MOS adapter.jpg
Master MOS adapter.jpg (133.09 KiB) Viewed 1333 times

cmorley
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by cmorley » Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:55 pm

Working well in a rev 5 Amiga 500. The data buffers are HCT so 5v CMOS output levels - won't require pull ups like a 27C400 does in a rev 5... The wire goes to the _RESET signal to get ROM swithcing from the keyboard with ctrl+A+A. (ROM switching can also be done via the USB which might be useful for synths, drum machines and other non-computer gear)
rev5_a500.jpg
rev5_a500.jpg (141.26 KiB) Viewed 1328 times
Firmware is functional. I have features to add but the core functionality is proven working :D

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:51 pm

Shut up and take my money!

JanHolbo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 6:53 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by JanHolbo » Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:43 am

Hi!

Great product in the making!
cmorley wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 6:57 am
I think if TerribleFire and Chucky test then the Amigas are covered.
I know that you seem to have Amigas covered. I would like to help out as well if you need though. I would pay the cost of both kit and P&P to Denmark, if it is not too expensive.

Is it possible to mix rom sizes? 4 x 256K images (1.2, 1.3, DiagRom) and 2 x 512K images (2.04, 3.1.4) ?

Again, great to have people like you and others making new hardware for the machines we grew up with and still love and use :-)

EDIT: I am using an A500 Rev 6a motherboard.

JanHolbo

cmorley
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by cmorley » Fri Aug 30, 2019 2:59 pm

JanHolbo wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:43 am
Is it possible to mix rom sizes? 4 x 256K images (1.2, 1.3, DiagRom) and 2 x 512K images (2.04, 3.1.4) ?
Only with manual switches. You need A17 connected to the Amiga for 512K image but controlled by the switching for a 256KB image.

Chris

JanHolbo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 6:53 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by JanHolbo » Sat Aug 31, 2019 11:47 am

cmorley wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 2:59 pm
JanHolbo wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:43 am
Is it possible to mix rom sizes? 4 x 256K images (1.2, 1.3, DiagRom) and 2 x 512K images (2.04, 3.1.4) ?
Only with manual switches. You need A17 connected to the Amiga for 512K image but controlled by the switching for a 256KB image.
Thank you for the answer. Checking on my 2.0 Rom it is a 2.04 (37.175) that does not support IDE boot.

Would putting DiagROM and 1.3 on 512K images together with 2.04 and 3.1.4 (4 x 512K images total) work?

Any preview on price and date of release for either a prototype or RC board?

Jan

cmorley
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by cmorley » Sat Aug 31, 2019 12:37 pm

JanHolbo wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 11:47 am
Would putting DiagROM and 1.3 on 512K images together with 2.04 and 3.1.4 (4 x 512K images total) work?

Any preview on price and date of release for either a prototype or RC board?
Yes that works. I have tried (4 of) 1.2, 1.3, 3.1, 3.1.4 & DiagROM.

If you set the module up as 4x 512KB ROMs and program a 256KB image my firmware programs it twice (so either high/low on A17 is the same ROM image). It also handles byte swapping at program time.

I know there is space in the memory map on an Amiga for an extra ROM but not what you can use that for. In 1MB mode with a flylead from the CPU or Gary you could use this from one module. Is this useful on an A2000 I don't know?

I have a few more of the prototypes. Some are destined for testing in other systems. Terriblefire isn't testing so I sent 2 to Chucky. I don't know how much they will be yet because I am going to get these assembled - batch size and economy of scale will make them cheaper but then I need to pay more money up front and greater risk if there is a fault with them. My aim is that these will be cheaper than the existing multi EPROM/ROM switchers that are for sale now.

Chris

cmorley
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: 27C400/27C800 EPROM emulator

Post by cmorley » Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:04 am

Working in an 8-bit machine. This is an Acorn Master using the ROM emulator/switcher to replace the 128KB MOS mega chip (contains MOS, ROMs & character set). ROM switching working from the BREAK key :)

I will send this off to a friend who uses his Master daily (he did Y2K fixes and assembled MOS images for various versions/configs including a OS 1.20 for better model B compatibility).
Photo0798_800.jpg
Photo0798_800.jpg (144.78 KiB) Viewed 985 times

Post Reply

Return to “8 BIT CORNER”