2600 Composite mod

Any 8bit repairs, images, cool things, upgrades etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7122
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:55 pm

So its possible I might have planned on the MAX7453 For the output buffer as I just found a pack of them in the bottom of my drawer...


Looks like FMS6146-D was the one I actually had named on the PCB...and the chip I actually fitted...

I think the problem here was I labelled the chips the wrong way round on the PCB design file :roll:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7122
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:49 pm

8-)

3.jpg
3.jpg (51.03 KiB) Viewed 267 times

Will dig out the 2600 tomorrow and see what state I left it in last time :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:08 pm

Tonight or tomorrow then!

Oh, wait, Phil will kill it so I'm OK 😁
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1530
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by PhilC » Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:21 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:08 pm
Tonight or tomorrow then!

Oh, wait, Phil will kill it so I'm OK 😁
Yeah, imean, I'm not even sure I have either of those chips. Wonder what I have that size with that many pins?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:20 pm

Found mine, and the chip that is not installed :)

Should have the rest of the bits in my parts drawer. No pressure Phil :)
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1530
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by PhilC » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:31 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:20 pm
Found mine, and the chip that is not installed :)

Should have the rest of the bits in my parts drawer. No pressure Phil :)
Good luck RJ, in reality mine will probably be next week as I've a PLC/HMI to program for work and a Mega to upgrade to 4mb, let alone all the DIY my wife has planned for my week off next week.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:30 am

PhilC wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:31 am
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:20 pm
Found mine, and the chip that is not installed :)

Should have the rest of the bits in my parts drawer. No pressure Phil :)
Good luck RJ, in reality mine will probably be next week as I've a PLC/HMI to program for work and a Mega to upgrade to 4mb, let alone all the DIY my wife has planned for my week off next week.
I know all about the DIY thing, we want to move so need to start planning the tidy up of the house in preparation. Last xmas I spent almost my entire 2 weeks off tiling the floor in the kitchen, hall and bathroom!! The result was good though, but really put a crimp on my retro activities!

Will post photos when I progress.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7122
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:12 am

Finally found the previous hack job system I was experimenting with..

I think what I did was remove the RF originally, but then I put it back in the bodged way so I can actually make sure the console was running as the output from the S-Video board was questionable a lot of the time :lol:

So I will remove this board first, then solder a header strip onto the TIA so I can put my board in .. And then watch the magic smoke escape...

IMG_4083.JPG
IMG_4083.JPG (136.42 KiB) Viewed 243 times

My board was trying to bring order to the chaos above, it probably will not end well :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:18 am

I know on the comp mod I did (3 resistors and a transistor), I had to remove the modulator and pick up the composite from a pad on the main 2600 PCB.

Is there a requirement to remove the modulator with your design? Sorry if I've asked this before, but a lot of time has passed since we first started with this.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7122
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:27 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:18 am
I know on the comp mod I did (3 resistors and a transistor), I had to remove the modulator and pick up the composite from a pad on the main 2600 PCB.

Is there a requirement to remove the modulator with your design? Sorry if I've asked this before, but a lot of time has passed since we first started with this.
Modulator causes a lot of interference, so you really have no choice but to remove it. It's one reason my design tapped directly into the TIA itself ( then every component after it relating to the video gets removed and replaced) .
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply