2600 Composite mod

Any 8bit repairs, images, cool things, upgrades etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6569
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:55 pm

So its possible I might have planned on the MAX7453 For the output buffer as I just found a pack of them in the bottom of my drawer...


Looks like FMS6146-D was the one I actually had named on the PCB...and the chip I actually fitted...

I think the problem here was I labelled the chips the wrong way round on the PCB design file :roll:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6569
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:49 pm

8-)

3.jpg
3.jpg (51.03 KiB) Viewed 127 times

Will dig out the 2600 tomorrow and see what state I left it in last time :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:08 pm

Tonight or tomorrow then!

Oh, wait, Phil will kill it so I'm OK 😁
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1316
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by PhilC » Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:21 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:08 pm
Tonight or tomorrow then!

Oh, wait, Phil will kill it so I'm OK 😁
Yeah, imean, I'm not even sure I have either of those chips. Wonder what I have that size with that many pins?

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:20 pm

Found mine, and the chip that is not installed :)

Should have the rest of the bits in my parts drawer. No pressure Phil :)
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1316
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by PhilC » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:31 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:20 pm
Found mine, and the chip that is not installed :)

Should have the rest of the bits in my parts drawer. No pressure Phil :)
Good luck RJ, in reality mine will probably be next week as I've a PLC/HMI to program for work and a Mega to upgrade to 4mb, let alone all the DIY my wife has planned for my week off next week.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:30 am

PhilC wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:31 am
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:20 pm
Found mine, and the chip that is not installed :)

Should have the rest of the bits in my parts drawer. No pressure Phil :)
Good luck RJ, in reality mine will probably be next week as I've a PLC/HMI to program for work and a Mega to upgrade to 4mb, let alone all the DIY my wife has planned for my week off next week.
I know all about the DIY thing, we want to move so need to start planning the tidy up of the house in preparation. Last xmas I spent almost my entire 2 weeks off tiling the floor in the kitchen, hall and bathroom!! The result was good though, but really put a crimp on my retro activities!

Will post photos when I progress.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6569
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:12 am

Finally found the previous hack job system I was experimenting with..

I think what I did was remove the RF originally, but then I put it back in the bodged way so I can actually make sure the console was running as the output from the S-Video board was questionable a lot of the time :lol:

So I will remove this board first, then solder a header strip onto the TIA so I can put my board in .. And then watch the magic smoke escape...

IMG_4083.JPG
IMG_4083.JPG (136.42 KiB) Viewed 103 times

My board was trying to bring order to the chaos above, it probably will not end well :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:18 am

I know on the comp mod I did (3 resistors and a transistor), I had to remove the modulator and pick up the composite from a pad on the main 2600 PCB.

Is there a requirement to remove the modulator with your design? Sorry if I've asked this before, but a lot of time has passed since we first started with this.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6569
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:27 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:18 am
I know on the comp mod I did (3 resistors and a transistor), I had to remove the modulator and pick up the composite from a pad on the main 2600 PCB.

Is there a requirement to remove the modulator with your design? Sorry if I've asked this before, but a lot of time has passed since we first started with this.
Modulator causes a lot of interference, so you really have no choice but to remove it. It's one reason my design tapped directly into the TIA itself ( then every component after it relating to the video gets removed and replaced) .
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply