Page 2 of 2

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 10:18 pm
by LaoMu
exxos wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:16 pm
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:13 pm
Ok then. Shall I order via the shop, or do You pack that all together with the resistor arrays and the Fast tos german. And tell me the final price.
Give me a few days to create the roms, then just order form my store, will send resistors free.
Thx, I apriciate that. I will wait then.

gn8

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 2:08 pm
by LaoMu
Hi,
bad news, today I tried to power on my Mega 1 and it did not start...just showing an unusual screen..(could imagine some bombs maybe).

After an reset the mashine boots up normal. Of course I've checked everything ..and found that only 1 MB from my 4 MB are available.
I did not pay attantion to this yesterday, sorry.
After resetting again the Mega boots up ..with only 1 MB. I decide to solder back the blitter patch...and then I had my 4 MB back
and also a real cold start (Just wait a few minutes before power on) results in a good start up with 4 MB ram ...
It seems that the blitter patch is doing a little more then I expect.

One question: Can I put other ram chips in the empty slots from my desoldered 1 MB .

I desoldered the chips from typ :NEC D424256C-12 .Maybe there are other with more cpacity available.

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 2:34 pm
by exxos
Those older RAM upgrades with the long cables are normally iffy at the best of times, you probably have a bad connection somewhere on that, nothing to do with the to patch, likely just coincidence.

In all honesty, you might be better getting a STE... MEGA's are not very stable at the best of times.

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/MEGAST/index.htm

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 9:43 pm
by LaoMu
exxos wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 2:34 pm
Those older RAM upgrades with the long cables are normally iffy at the best of times, you probably have a bad connection somewhere on that, nothing to do with the to patch, likely just coincidence.

In all honesty, you might be better getting a STE... MEGA's are not very stable at the best of times.

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/MEGAST/index.htm
Hi, I resolder all points of the 4MB expansion and shorten a few wires.......voila... I am back in the game. Thx for the hint. :)

So I am ready to start with the booster. I'll want to give the Mega ST 1 a trial because I really like the design of this maschines.
In my Youth it was unreachable for me cause of the price and gave it up....not again. :)

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 9:49 pm
by exxos
:bravo:

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Mon May 28, 2018 7:38 pm
by LaoMu
exxos wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 9:49 pm
:bravo:
Hi,
....about the DUAL fast Tos for the Mega ST

I've seen you are selling combinations like 1.02/1.04 & 1.62/2.06. For the Mega ST1 a combination of 1.04 / 2.06 would be better
since the 1.62 does not support the Mega ST (If I believe the elders of the Internet) :)

Can You provide that also...for a nickle more maybe? :)

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Mon May 28, 2018 8:10 pm
by exxos
LaoMu wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 7:38 pm
I've seen you are selling combinations like 1.02/1.04 & 1.62/2.06. For the Mega ST1 a combination of 1.04 / 2.06 would be better
You can't simpley swap TOS206 in a MEGA ST.. TOS 104 is max you can go without more modifications..

TOS 1.02 / 1.04 ST,STF,STFM,MEGA
TOS 1.62 / 2.06 STE

It is possible to use TOS206 on machines, but you need to design upgrade yourself for that.. My V2.2 booster supported 104 & 206, but it is not sold anymore.

IMHO if you want to use TOS206, get a STE instead.

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Mon May 28, 2018 8:15 pm
by LaoMu
exxos wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 8:10 pm
LaoMu wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 7:38 pm
I've seen you are selling combinations like 1.02/1.04 & 1.62/2.06. For the Mega ST1 a combination of 1.04 / 2.06 would be better
You can't simpley swap TOS206 in a MEGA ST.. TOS 104 is max you can go without more modifications..

TOS 1.02 / 1.04 ST,STF,STFM,MEGA
TOS 1.62 / 2.06 STE

It is possible to use TOS206 on machines, but you need to design upgrade yourself for that.. My V2.2 booster supported 104 & 206, but it is not sold anymore.

IMHO if you want to use TOS206, get a STE instead.
Thx to make that clear....I will stay on 1.02/1.04 and order in the shop right now. The Mega STE comes maybe later :) there is just one on Ebay in good condition.