Page 1 of 2

V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:57 pm
by LaoMu
Hi,
I am thinking about to buy a V1.5 booster and put it into my Mega ST1 with 4 MB of Ram. What is not clear for me, what
I have to do with the installed Blitterpatch. Is that obsolet together with the booster?

BR
LaoMu

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 9:06 pm
by exxos
If you have a more "recent" blitter, then remove the patch and fix the trace under the CPU.. The patch is only needed on early blitters.

See bottom of this page...

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/MEGAST/index.htm

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 10:22 pm
by LaoMu
Hi,
thx for answering. I have a ST/SGS Blitter coded 8833. I assume that one do not need the patch, right?
Regarding the interrupted track....I think I just solder a small wire between the 2 points which
had been connected trough the track before.

Thanks LaoMu

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 10:29 pm
by exxos
It should be ok, I would remove the patch and give your machine a good try out first just to be sure.

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm
by LaoMu
Hi ,
I tried that out and the Mega ST runs fine without the blitter-patch. Before I order the booster 1.5 I have one question (one more). :)
I do need to order the booster 1.5 and the fast rom kit as well. But inthe moment there is no german dual tos chip in the shop.

Is this available again soon?

BR

Lao Mu

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 9:42 pm
by exxos
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm
I tried that out and the Mega ST runs fine without the blitter-patch.
:bravo: thanks for letting us know!

LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm
I do need to order the booster 1.5 and the fast rom kit as well.
You need the fast ROM kit.
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm
But in the moment there is no german dual tos chip in the shop.
Is this available again soon?
They should be in the shop in a few days, I just have not had chance to do more stock for them yet..

I would also suggest you get the mega buffer board..
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0039
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V ... MEGABUFFER
otherwise it may be unstable..

You are likely need some different resistor arrays for the mega, I can enclose them if needed..

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 10:00 pm
by LaoMu
I would apriciate if you can sell me the correct resistor arrays as well. I see a problem occuring with the buffer board.
This is installed in the shifter socket.....and I have a 4MB ram expansion installed there. Can this mounted together, as a sandwich ? :?:

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 10:06 pm
by exxos
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:00 pm
I would apriciate if you can sell me the correct resistor arrays as well. I see a problem occuring with the buffer board.
This is installed in the shifter socket.....and I have a 4MB ram expansion installed there. Can this mounted together, as a sandwich ? :?:
You should be able to plug the buffer into the socket you have there... it just buffers the clocks so I don't think there should be any problems..

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 10:13 pm
by LaoMu
exxos wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:06 pm
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:00 pm
I would apriciate if you can sell me the correct resistor arrays as well. I see a problem occuring with the buffer board.
This is installed in the shifter socket.....and I have a 4MB ram expansion installed there. Can this mounted together, as a sandwich ? :?:
You should be able to plug the buffer into the socket you have there... it just buffers the clocks so I don't think there should be any problems..
Ok then. Shall I order via the shop, or do You pack that all together with the resitor arrays and the Fast tos german. And tell me the final price.
I pay via paypal then..

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 10:16 pm
by exxos
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:13 pm
Ok then. Shall I order via the shop, or do You pack that all together with the resistor arrays and the Fast tos german. And tell me the final price.
Give me a few days to create the roms, then just order form my store, will send resistors free.