STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Help & information about the V2.X series boosters.
Post Reply
dragmar
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:12 am

STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by dragmar » Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:01 pm

It tests STFM V2.3 booster, and I have a problem, I don't know if I have read something but I connected it and it won't start.
White screen.
I tested with rainbow tos and PP TOS 1.04i
Both are not starting.

Is STFM KIT DUAL TOS & UBE BETA required for STFM V2.3 booster?

IMG_20200604_201916.jpg
IMG_20200604_201916.jpg (200.66 KiB) Viewed 2162 times
IMG_20200604_201922.jpg
IMG_20200604_201922.jpg (258.68 KiB) Viewed 2162 times
IMG_20200604_201904.jpg
IMG_20200604_201904.jpg (220.85 KiB) Viewed 2162 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14254
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by exxos » Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:01 pm

I would suggest you try 8MHz mode first.. You also need to connect the second wire if even to 5V to disable fast-rom access..

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/ ... /index.htm

If you have 6 chips TOS you need to do create a new CE line for the booster, someone did this a while ago but need to find it. The ROM's also have to be 100ns or faster.

EDIT:
3 Diode mod was done here viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1411&p=15168&r#p15168

If you have 2 chips TOS, then you can solder to the LS11 chips or OE PAD as mentioned in the install page.

EDIT2:
Also make sure your machine still boots with the original 68K CPU in the socket.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

dragmar
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:12 am

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by dragmar » Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:58 am

Also make sure your machine still boots with the original 68K CPU in the socket.
The computer is good. Works 68K CPU in the socket
3 Diode mod was done here viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1411&p=15168&r#p15168
Thanks for the information. At the weekend I will apply a patch with LEDs and we will see. Today I will connect BOOSTER on 8MHzi and check if it starts.
I would suggest you try 8MHz mode first.. You also need to connect the second wire if even to 5V to disable fast-rom access..
I attached the image (should the ROM select wire be connected to 5v?)

ROMWIRE.jpg
ROMWIRE.jpg (134.68 KiB) Viewed 2128 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14254
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:40 am

dragmar wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:58 am
I attached the image (should the ROM select wire be connected to 5v?)
Yes,
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

dragmar
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:12 am

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by dragmar » Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:49 pm

I connected at the beginning to launch Booster in 8MHZ.
I could not start the machine, still a white screen

I will try tomorrow
3 Diode mod was done here viewtopic.php? F = 5 & t = 1411 & p = 15168 & r # p15168
Attachments
IMG_20200605_184517.jpg
IMG_20200605_184517.jpg (237.7 KiB) Viewed 2080 times
IMG_20200605_184531.jpg
IMG_20200605_184531.jpg (304.6 KiB) Viewed 2080 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14254
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:20 pm

Have you tried without CPU locator ? Those motherboards are probably the worst ones to work with. You would be better with a 70789 style board.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

dragmar
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:12 am

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by dragmar » Mon Jun 08, 2020 11:23 am

This weekend I could not find diode 1N4148 at home.

I decided to test the ATARI 1040STF board, which I need to restore to proper operation. The disc has a torn image in low resolution, and when testing with YAART causes a lot of errors to fail.

But I was able to run the v2.3 booster on the C103088 rev. 2A starts !!!

The work is unstable but it is probably ATARI 1040STF board.

In another thread, please help me get her to work properly.

IMG_20200606_212214.jpg
IMG_20200606_212214.jpg (473.42 KiB) Viewed 2055 times
IMG_20200606_204057.jpg
IMG_20200606_204057.jpg (179.5 KiB) Viewed 2055 times
IMG_20200606_204126.jpg
IMG_20200606_204126.jpg (277.04 KiB) Viewed 2055 times
IMG_20200606_203925.jpg
IMG_20200606_203925.jpg (305.45 KiB) Viewed 2055 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14254
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by exxos » Mon Jun 08, 2020 11:44 am

You are likely causing problems with the CPU locator, You dont say speed of your ROM's, if your PSU is recapped etc. I think you are using items which were never tested with the booster so you may well have issues.

You need to test in 8MHz mode to see if its stable, if its not, then there is some odd problem somewhere, but that would be really difficult to locate. The booster in 8MHz mode acts like stock system, so should be no reason for it to fail other than bad connections / soldering somewhere. Cleaning pins with IPA may be all it needs. But again, if PSU is no recapped, you are feeding bad power into the machine to start with, so for sure faster speeds will be more unstable.

You should also use thin wire for booster connections, I usually supply wire with items, but sometimes I may forget on some batches.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

dragmar
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:12 am

Re: STFM V2.3 booster does not start

Post by dragmar » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:11 pm

I have no reservations for Booster v2.3. I checked it with and without CPU re-locator. I checked with 8MHz and 16Mhz.
TOS 2xW27C010 DIL32 70ns
(I tested 1.04 and 1.04i). I connected it to a faulty motherboard because I didn't have another one to test.
The PSU is running out. I will buy a new tail for you and it will be like new :)
But I tested the power supply checked and already after re-cap and the same symptom.
I started the topic about this motherboard elsewhere. If I put the record in order, I will write here how everything works

Post Reply

Return to “ST 16MHz V2.X SERIES BOOSTERS (Discontinued 2020)”