CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC 64MHz 68000)

Information and news about the 68SEC000 64MHz booster.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6017
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by PhilC »

:dualthumbup: Well done.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23507
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

So far not having much luck with 50MHz. The same issues as before that TOS206 won't decode and only TOS104 work. Formatting a floppy brings the error box up initially as before. I've tried like 500 versions of timings and variations of stuff and there isn't anything really else *to* change.

I think its just a inherent problem in the GLUE that because it doesn't see /AS going low, it starts to do something else which causes the problem.

The only way to get the format to behave, is with 3xCLK8 delays on ROM DTACK... So no fast-rom access there. But TOS206 still doesn't decode.. can only assume even though GLUE sees AS going low, its still not behaving and starting to do something which it shouldn't. I thought delaying BG to the ST by 3 or 4 clocks would emulate that timing, but doesn't seem to make any odds :(

So I have no other things to try really with this now :( I have pretty much exhausted everything I can try. The only possible option is to run the CPU in 8MHz when doing bus grant stuff, or any bus access.. but I can't do that on this current board and would need to do a new board :roll: There isn't really any guarantees that even doing that would work.

I have been looking at the PAK020 code to see how that does stuff... The only thing I can spot really is they isolate LDS, UDS when I don't. Though I never had any issues with that before.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by rpineau »

On the 68020 card we do have to deal with this and we need to take the BR/BG/BGACK from the ST as well as the ST_AS and CPU_AS to make sure we let the system know when the bus is used by the CPU (68020) and thus assert ST_AS to prevent the glue/GSTMCU from trying to take the bus as there is a bus cycle in progress.
this is a sample from our VHDL code :

Code: Select all

strobes_sync: process (RESET, BGACK_ST, AS_CPU, DS, CLK_SYS, st_access) -- sync AS, UDS, LDS to system clock
	begin
		if BGACK_ST = '0' then		-- blitter is bus master
			AS_ST <= 'Z';
			LDS <= 'Z';
			UDS <= 'Z';
			RW_ST <= 'Z';
		elsif RESET = '0' or AS_CPU = '1' or DS = '1' or st_access = '1'  then
			AS_ST <= '1';
			LDS <= '1';
			UDS <= '1';
			RW_ST <= '1';
		elsif rising_edge (CLK_SYS) then
			AS_ST <= '0';
			LDS <= not SIZ1 and SIZ0 and not A0 and not RW;
			UDS <= A0 and not RW;
			RW_ST <= RW;
		end if;
	end process;
st_access is a signal that is to see if we're using 16bit bus or 32 bit bus (TOS is 32 bit i our case).

Code: Select all

	-- st_access prevent the St from seeing 32 bit address space access as shadow access
	st_access <= '1' when	(tos_rom_cs = '0')
						or (intr_ctrl_addr = '0')
						or ( Address_bus >= x"01000000" and Address_bus < x"80000000")
						or ( Address_bus >= x"90000000" and Address_bus < x"FE000000")
						else '0';
and our TOS chip select :

Code: Select all

	tos_rom_cs <= '0'	when	(Address_bus >= x"0" 			and Address_bus < x"8")
								or (Address_bus >= x"00E00000" 	and Address_bus < x"00F00000")
								or (Address_bus >= x"FFE00000" 	and Address_bus < x"FFF00000")
				else '1';
As the SEC is wired for 2 wire bus master management there are a few things that differs but the important part is to let the GLUE know a cycle is in progress
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23507
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

rpineau wrote: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:22 pm As the SEC is wired for 2 wire bus master management there are a few things that differs but the important part is to let the GLUE know a cycle is in progress
Yep works fine in 8MHz...

OK so I don't do anything with LDS, UDS, but Also I just saw RW in your code...
Why do I just have a feeling that is likely a problem here as I never thought about tristating RW as never need to on the V2.x series, but that isn't running at 50MHz :cry: :cry: :cry:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23507
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

Got side tracked here fixing the SEC footprint https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... 34&p=16701

Now the job of tidying up my board again... Then will see how I can route RW,UDS,LDS via my PLD...
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
BlankVector
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:51 pm

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by BlankVector »

exxos wrote: Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:22 pm I have asked EMUTOS guys if they have any clues about it...
Hey, I'm back to business!
As I understand, you have that format error with accelerated CPU and ROM, right?
You have the very same error with both TOS and EmuTOS. That's really strange because the BIOS is completely different. EmuTOS's BIOS has been rewritten from scratch. On the other hand, FastCopy 3 works fine.
But there is another clue. TOS and EmuTOS run from ROM, while FastCopy 3 runs from RAM. As ROM is accelerated, that could change things.

First hint: run EmuTOS from RAM to see what happens. In such version, the ROM is totally ignored, the whole EmuTOS lives in RAM.
- If it works, then we can assume that the trouble comes from ROM boost
- If it fails, then the only difference will be boosted CPU

Instructions:
Go there:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/emutos ... os/0.9.10/
And download emutos-prg-0.9.10.zip

Extract emutosuk.prg and put it into a floppy.

Start your ST with any ROM (TOS any version or EmuTOS).
Run emutosuk.prg from floppy.

Try to format a floppy and see what happens.

(then if necessary, we could build special EmuTOS binaries with extra debug output)
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Disable the key click in assembly language on Atari ST.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23507
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

BlankVector wrote: Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:57 pm Hey, I'm back to business!
As I understand, you have that format error with accelerated CPU and ROM, right?
Hey! Yes, but we both made some progress... We did a patch to the code in TF's booster and he is running now.. So he doesn't get the error...

I found about a hour ago I have a problem with my design, so I need to do a new PCB before I can look into it more.. but I think I have a conflict with RW signal when I run fast-rom :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23507
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

Managed to squash the correct CPU layout in there.. Also routed RW,LDS,UDS via the PLD..

Also fixed a missing wire which stopped me from doing 8MHz/50MHz switching on the current board..

I also routed another pin to ST_DTACK.. simply because if anything like the blitter accesses ROM, then it would just "hang" as DTACK was only issued to the CPU before.. I don't think anything on the bus ever accesses ROM, but best to have that "Fix" in place just in case.

Need to add some CPU side pull-ups , as they are now in effect isolated from the pullups on the ST side.. Also need to add a pad for ROM_EN output.. WIll do all that Thursday.


n.jpg
n.jpg (157.96 KiB) Viewed 3437 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by rpineau »

The blitter access the ROM.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23507
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

Had a thought just, it shouldn't matter about LDS,LDS,RW being isolated because the CPU has given up the bus anyway... Unless I'm missing something ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “SEC 64MHZ BOOSTER”