Forgottenmyname - Progress

Where Alpha builders can post pics and progress etc
BlankVector
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:51 pm

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by BlankVector » Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:06 am

Great progress! See my offer to use EmuTOS for debugging the hardware.
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by Forgottenmyname » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:35 pm

So, just done the latest fix with patching the Glue days lines and also put a 1k resistor across 11 and 32 of the MFP, and here's the result:
20180924_123047.jpg
20180924_123047.jpg (6.74 MiB) Viewed 187 times
Not wired the serial up yet to verify but it is good to now see the errors from the diag cart being listed on the screen.

Well done Exxos.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by Icky » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:40 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:35 pm
So, just done the latest fix with patching the Glue days lines and also put a 1k resistor across 11 and 32 of the MFP, and here's the result:

Not wired the serial up yet to verify but it is good to now see the errors from the diag cart being listed on the screen.

Well done Exxos.
:cheer:

You are caught up :)

So the 1k is needed.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by Forgottenmyname » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:42 pm

I couldn't say it isn't needed, lol.

Will check when home on Wednesday night.

No doubt I'll have catching up to do by then :lol:

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5021
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by exxos » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:08 pm

What happens on your desktop, does it look like Ickys >
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by Forgottenmyname » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:10 pm

I don't get to the desktop but think I have a dodgy 1772, which I will try changing shortly.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5021
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by exxos » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:31 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:10 pm
I don't get to the desktop but think I have a dodgy 1772, which I will try changing shortly.
Maybe you actually have a different problem than icky then... The RW line issue wouldn't effect the MMU RAM board as it takes signals right from the MMU itself... on that basis, you should be more working than icky.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by Forgottenmyname » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:35 pm

Yeah that's what I was thinking.

I still get bombs without the diag cart inserted, with it inserted it now goes to the full menu but then the screen over writes itself with garbage.

Although when I very quickly put the diagrom in it loads up to a nice clear black screen to the menu.

So could it be something due to a ram address line that one rom is using but not the other?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5021
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by exxos » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:40 pm

Did you add the MFP resistor as that solved the bombs on Ickys machine..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Forgottenmyname - Progress

Post by Forgottenmyname » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:42 pm

Yes I did, to the top of the chip very quickly, will resolver it underneath in a bit and try another MFP

Post Reply