Icky - Progress

Where Alpha builders can post pics and progress etc
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7423
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:44 am

You could try a higher value in series with pin 38 I think it was... 500R or even 1k.. Not much else to try really..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7423
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:17 am

4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by rpineau » Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:23 am

exxos wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:03 pm


It only seems to say is driven with a open collector, but does not really say is needed for any reason..
It needs to be open collector as there can be multiple DMA devices driving it.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7423
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:20 am

rpineau wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:23 am
It needs to be open collector as there can be multiple DMA devices driving it.
But there isn't, only Hard Drive port..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by rpineau » Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:33 pm

Oh yes. my mistake, I was thinking of it as an output :) .. but it's an input from DMA port to DMA via the gate so the gate output is connected to only one device .. the DMA chip.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1276
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:21 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:44 am
You could try a higher value in series with pin 38 I think it was... 500R or even 1k.. Not much else to try really..
Tried 500R and it doesn't see drives at all just stuck on white screen

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7423
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:23 pm

Icky wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:21 pm
Tried 500R and it doesn't see drives at all just stuck on white screen
Odd.. so another odd dma issue to look into then... see how things go with the new LS chip first though.. maybe its the delay which makes the magic..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1276
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:24 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:23 pm
Icky wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:21 pm
Tried 500R and it doesn't see drives at all just stuck on white screen
Odd.. so another odd dma issue to look into then... see how things go with the new LS chip first though.. maybe its the delay which makes the magic..
Just got the chips today. Starting to take a look now.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1276
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:40 pm

Icky wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:24 pm
exxos wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:23 pm


Odd.. so another odd dma issue to look into then... see how things go with the new LS chip first though.. maybe its the delay which makes the magic..
Just got the chips today. Starting to take a look now.
Placed LS06 with pull-ups in U51

Still floppy not found when HDD connected

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1276
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Wed Oct 10, 2018 12:46 am

I think I am getting somewhere I think there is still some issues in the layout round the DMA, MFP and WD1772.

On STF remake schematic U32B pin 5 is marked as going to INTR but on the board this actually goes to a pull-up RP1 only.

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.44.45.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.44.45.png (43.18 KiB) Viewed 529 times
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.40.31.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.40.31.png (229.86 KiB) Viewed 529 times

Checking the STFM original schematic U32B pin 5 should go to pin 28 the INT on the WD1772 and on the STF Remake its marked as INTRQ

However pin 28 on the WD1772 on the STF remake is not connected to any INT but is connected to one of planes.

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.45.39.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.45.39.png (20.97 KiB) Viewed 529 times
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.41.51.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 00.41.51.png (77.86 KiB) Viewed 529 times

I did a patch by lifting pin 28 on WD1772 and lifting pin 5 on U32 and soldering wire between them.

Floppy drive still works but when HDD is connected there is just a white screen

Still going round the circuit for other problems that might be there

Post Reply