Icky - Progress

Where Alpha builders can post pics and progress etc
User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:35 am

Should of stopped a long time ago today but I went a head and moved the HxC and started fitting fixings for the keyboard

I have created a monster :twisted:

My goal here is just to make it easier to use and move this around in one go as space is a premium.

Not worth trying to fit it into a real case as it won't fit with all the patches etc.

Plus I still need to get to it and pull it apart as more is worked into this board.

IMG_3170.png
IMG_3170.png (743.09 KiB) Viewed 172 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 21, 2018 1:58 am

Nice! Yeah the ram card was located flush with the front of the PSU.. Question really is if there is enough space in a real case for it to still fit under the keyboard.. Would assume so as I think its located lower on the falcon..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:03 am

exxos wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 1:58 am
Nice! Yeah the ram card was located flush with the front of the PSU.. Question really is if there is enough space in a real case for it to still fit under the keyboard.. Would assume so as I think its located lower on the falcon..
There is plenty of space. I just popped the board into an old case and even with the reset button pushing the board down about 10mm there is about a 5mm gap between the RAM board and the Keyboard.

IMG_3178.png
IMG_3178.png (442.34 KiB) Viewed 144 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:00 pm

Nice. I guess a normal falcon 4MB card would seat even lower.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:05 pm

exxos wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:00 pm
Nice. I guess a normal falcon 4MB card would seat even lower.
It would. I also noticed the board I had could be pushed further down so we have plenty of space.

That said would not fitting a SIMM slot directly on the STF board work and save space? I guess there have been discussions already around this.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4642
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:20 pm

Icky wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:05 pm
That said would not fitting a SIMM slot directly on the STF board work and save space? I guess there have been discussions already around this.
I don't think the sockets were easy to find anymore. But really it doesn't matter as when I get the FPGA MMU core running, it will use SRAM. Hopefully we can use 14mb ram rather than 4mb as well.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:29 pm

exxos wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:20 pm
Icky wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:05 pm
That said would not fitting a SIMM slot directly on the STF board work and save space? I guess there have been discussions already around this.
I don't think the sockets were easy to find anymore. But really it doesn't matter as when I get the FPGA MMU core running, it will use SRAM. Hopefully we can use 14mb ram rather than 4mb as well.
Makes sense. There is a balance here on what is still available and where we are heading.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:02 pm

Not much Atari today.

Desoldered the floppy patch cables I had from the board ready for the Floppy Un-f*ck board.

Patched the parallel port - thanks to PaulJ for finding

Tidied up the 16Mhz optional fix as its very visible on top of the board. Removed the resistor R910 and placed on the bottom of the board into the original hole and wired to the IC900. Now pretty much all the resistor type patches are underneath the board.

Removed the floppy power cable from the CN2 solder pads, ready for a break-out board been making that plugs in using a JST XH connector and has a few more XH connectors on top. That way I can plug in floppy, Gigafile and other accessories.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:13 pm

Icky wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:02 pm


Removed the floppy power cable from the CN2 solder pads, ready for a break-out board been making that plugs in using a JST XH connector and has a few more XH connectors on top. That way I can plug in floppy, Gigafile and other accessories.
Now thats a good idea.

Not so much luck for me. My STF is dead. I've managed to get it to sort of boot with the DiagRom but my serial appears broken, which is not helpful either, LOL.

Time to try the chips in a working ST and then try again.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky » Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:41 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:13 pm
Icky wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:02 pm


Removed the floppy power cable from the CN2 solder pads, ready for a break-out board been making that plugs in using a JST XH connector and has a few more XH connectors on top. That way I can plug in floppy, Gigafile and other accessories.
Now thats a good idea.
Was getting fed up of powering other things by my bench PSU and having wires everywhere :)
Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:13 pm
Not so much luck for me. My STF is dead. I've managed to get it to sort of boot with the DiagRom but my serial appears broken, which is not helpful either, LOL.

Time to try the chips in a working ST and then try again.
Oh no :shock: not good - I did think things were all over for me earlier too whilst moving everything around on the perspex base on powering up it was just the white screen or no signal. Finally sorted it out there was some excess solder flecks causing issues. This is part of the reason why I have mounted this as there is a lot of patches on the bottom etc and just moving it around on top the desk could catch or move things.

Lets hope you get it up and running again.

Post Reply