Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Post Reply
theq
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:16 pm
Location: North of the Wall

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by theq »

terriblefire wrote: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:31 pm tried it in a TF330?

S
The one in the picture is connected to the TF330 via Dupont cables :)
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5389
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by terriblefire »

ah cool. no socket populated on the 330?
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
theq
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:16 pm
Location: North of the Wall

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by theq »

I put a normal header on it since I haven’t gotten the ESP-01S working on it... yet!
Would prefer the 01S over the breakout board I’m testing now due to the pin compability.
Need to figure out why the firmware is incompatible.
Smyckers
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:13 pm

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by Smyckers »

Here's my 330 with AWeb running :)
img2.jpg
img2.jpg (56.7 KiB) Viewed 5311 times
img1.jpg
img1.jpg (64.9 KiB) Viewed 5311 times
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5389
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by terriblefire »

Smyckers wrote: Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:50 pm Here's my 330 with AWeb running :)
Nice job sir. Wish i could get roadshow working.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5389
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by terriblefire »

Bingo....

got roadshow + classicwb going.
Screenshot 2020-03-31 at 23.40.26.png
Screenshot 2020-03-31 at 23.40.26.png (976.67 KiB) Viewed 5301 times
I'll follow up with the instructions tomorrow.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Excellent!!! 🤗
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5389
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by terriblefire »

Simple AmigaDOS script to set everything up for you. You need to have installed roadshow (maybe also with roadshow demo?) and downloaded http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/cslip-sana2.lha into the same folder as the script... see the zip attached.

Caveat is that it wipes your current settings clean and uses 8.8.8.8 for DNS resolution. You can update that if needed.

Code: Select all

; (C) 2020 Stephen J. Leary  
;
echo "Removing old slip.device"
IF EXISTS DEVS:Networks/slip.device
	delete DEVS:Networks/slip.device
EndIf

echo "Installing slip.device"
lha -q x cslip-sana2.lha ram:
copy QUIET ram:slip/slip.device DEVS:Networks/

IF NOT EXISTS ENVARC:Sana2
	echo "Creating SANA2 Config folder"
	MAKEDIR ENVARC:Sana2
ENDIF 

echo "Creating slip0.config" 
echo >envarc:Sana2/slip0.config "# Auto generated file" 
echo >>envarc:Sana2/slip0.config "serial.device 0 38400 192.168.240.2"

echo "Create network interface"
echo >devs:NetInterfaces/Slip "# $VER: SLIP 1.1 (1.4.2020)"
echo >>Devs:NetInterfaces/Slip "interface=Slip"
echo >>devs:NetInterfaces/Slip "device=slip.device"
echo >>devs:NetInterfaces/Slip "unit=0"
echo >>devs:NetInterfaces/Slip "address=192.168.240.2"
echo >>devs:NetInterfaces/Slip "netmask=255.255.255.0"
echo >>devs:NetInterfaces/Slip "requiresinitdelay=no"

echo "Create routes file"
echo >Devs:Internet/Routes default 192.168.240.1


echo "Create name_resolution file"
echo >Devs:Internet/name_resolution nameserver 8.8.8.8

literally unzip the zip file and type "Execute install_script" at a cli.
Attachments
TF3xx_slip.zip
(43.92 KiB) Downloaded 274 times
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
matt020
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by matt020 »

What wifi device/hardware are you using on the TF330?

And what are you using at the other end (that the wifi device connects to), is it a linux box?

Cheers.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5389
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Drivers for ESP modules

Post by terriblefire »

matt020 wrote: Wed Apr 01, 2020 3:49 pm What wifi device/hardware are you using on the TF330?

And what are you using at the other end (that the wifi device connects to), is it a linux box?

Cheers.
Its a simple ESP8266 module... it connects to my wifi directly. One of those...



The TF330 has the exact pinout for this modue.

You could use them back to back though from a PC if you dont have a wifi network but the whole point of this port is to give the CD32 wifi.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”