Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

sugar
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by sugar » Tue May 05, 2020 9:57 am

Tried to edit a typo from my older post but apparently ended up quoting myself instead :)

I might be mixing up things but I am under the impression the chipset can handle faster serial speed albeit I couldn't double 115200 (yet 8-) ) but trying it on the TF-360 will easily settle this.
I think I can get a few more bauds if I just boot to NTSC and set up a black and white screen and perhaps use FBlit or something like that to get the optimum out of the hardware and the drivers. Perhaps I'll try it tonight.
I did try some other drivers too but they didn't perform as well but that's perhaps due to me using them with the same configuration as the slip.device provided in the easy set up package.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3883
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by terriblefire » Tue May 05, 2020 10:46 am

Dont edit after someone has replied.. Its bad etiquette.

The chipset is not likely to work past a certain point but do keep checking. When these serial ports were designed 19200 baud was lightning fast.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

sugar
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by sugar » Tue May 05, 2020 12:07 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 10:46 am
Dont edit after someone has replied.. Its bad etiquette.

The chipset is not likely to work past a certain point but do keep checking. When these serial ports were designed 19200 baud was lightning fast.
I only fixed a missing zero (and unfortunately last time I edited the same post you had replied mean while).
Looking at serial.device "documentation" from https://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/Serial_Device tells it's intended for baud rates in the range 110–292000. I'll probably play around a bit and there are some serial.device alternatives that perhaps could give a slight boost (or not work at all) with a lower resolution set. Pretty happy with 216000 tbh as it doesnt differ much from my actual A1200 PCMCIA WIFI speed.

juz400
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:18 pm

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by juz400 » Thu May 07, 2020 12:05 pm

Is there a terminal program for Amiga that lets you set serial ports externally or higher than 115200 baud?
I have tried X-comm but that is limited to 115200 and is extremely unstable
N-comm, my trusty favourite from days of old, runs great but again limited to 115200.

I have couple of those esp modules but I havent played with them yet. Im using an FTDI FT232R usb to serial port.
Now, I have cobbled together two asm code programs that loads a file and fires it at the serial port and another that
receives and saves to disk. The code is a bit messy but works on TF330 to winUAE or the other way round

If you set $dff032 to #368 gives 9600, #183 gives 19200, #29 gives 115200

Set to #15 gives 230400 baud
Using my sender program on CD32 and Termite3.4 on PC I can reliably send from the Amiga to the PC.
Ive not had so much luck with WinUAE, my coding skills are a bit flakey so would like to see if some other software
might give better results.
Im sure I have read somewhere the esp modules are able to go higher than 115200

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3883
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by terriblefire » Thu May 07, 2020 12:13 pm

I honestly dont know.. From here on its "Here be Dragons". I use Term but i wouldn't rely on anything going that fast in an Amiga.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

juz400
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:18 pm

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by juz400 » Thu May 07, 2020 8:08 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 12:13 pm
I honestly dont know.. From here on its "Here be Dragons". I use Term but i wouldn't rely on anything going that fast in an Amiga.
Many thanks for the heads up on Term, I got 4.8 from Aminet.
It seems that WInUAE upper limit is 115200, I could only get garbage either way.
From the CD32 to PC at 230400, I can fire ASCII all day long, I have sent many large .asm files from the Amiga, off CompactFlash with
PAL resolution and 4 colour palette.
From the PC to CD32 its seems that its a bit to much, I have set workbench down to 2 colours, bumped priority on Term but no luck.
The first character you type turns up but anything else is garbled BUT the right amount of Hex characters
Im picturing a 90 year old with a huge earhorn shouting `speak up sonny, I cant hear you`
The TF360 on the otherhand may just be the Viagra required. Worth a look, as its quite a step up in network speed.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3883
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by terriblefire » Fri May 08, 2020 8:52 am

The issue with RX is what i expected. The 68000 series hasnt got fast enough interrupt latency for this really. Maybe the caches would help :/
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

matt020
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by matt020 » Sun May 10, 2020 11:36 am

sugar wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 9:09 pm
matt020 wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 2:07 pm
Has anyone tried baud rates above 115200?
I can run it at 216000bps but the CPU starts really struggling when you up the speeds. I think that 1mbps shouldn't be an issue with TF360 (If that's the only bottle neck). I think the documentation only tells that it defaults to 115200 since some USB devices max out at that rate but 21600 bps can be achieved just by editing envarc:sana2/slip0.config and setting the bitrate in the esp console. If that fails you can probably try a slower rate, say 201600 that still produces a nice boost.

Has anyone tried 201600 to see what its like with the 030?

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by supaduper » Sun May 10, 2020 11:50 am

I have got together all the software required to get your Amiga/ESP8266 wifi module online.

Below is the zip file, with DCtel_(telnet) , Roadshow( TCP/IP), iBrowse (internet Browser), and Steves TF3xx_slip script
These are all DEMO versions and you are time restricted online so you really need to register and purchase for the full experience :)

And just to note, if you are programming your own ESP8266 for the Amiga then you MUST remember that the BAUD rate on the ESP8266 must match the BAUD rate on the Amiga side , mine is set to 115200.
The Baud rate can be found in ENVARC:Sana2/slip0.config, just open it with a text editor to change it if required

There is a good `HOWTO` by E-Penquin a couple of pages back , just follow that to get yourself setup
Attachments
Amiga esp8266 wifi files.zip
(3.71 MiB) Downloaded 145 times

sugar
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Re: Getting WFI Working on TF3xx with ESP Module

Post by sugar » Fri May 22, 2020 10:28 pm

Anyone need a preprogrammed ESP and a socket? Will mail one free of charge to someone with a TF-330 and a solderering iron (it's ok too if your mate has a soldering iron)

Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”