TF1260 appears on my doormat

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by terriblefire » Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:26 am

Issue with the Edu card is that he put the components on the wrong side. They face down which means the heat doesnt dissipate.

I think he also used the middle layers for data which is a complete no no. I could be wrong there though. If its true it explains why it never worked. You need those planes to be "uncut" by other tracks to get the EMC you need.

Anyhow.... It never worked.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

go0se
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by go0se » Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:37 am

terriblefire wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:26 am
Issue with the Edu card is that he put the components on the wrong side. They face down which means the heat doesnt dissipate.
I had wondered why the components on some 1200 cards such as the Blizzard1230 are on the opposite side to those on the 1200 mainboard. I'd assumed it was to allow the SIMMs that they use to remain accessible just by opening the trapdoor rather than having to fully remove the card to swap memory?

It does seem like a compromise to have the heat generated from the inverted CPU flowing over the rest of the board before it can dissipate into the case.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by terriblefire » Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:21 am

go0se wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:37 am
I had wondered why the components on some 1200 cards such as the Blizzard1230 are on the opposite side to those on the 1200 mainboard. I'd assumed it was to allow the SIMMs that they use to remain accessible just by opening the trapdoor rather than having to fully remove the card to swap memory?

It does seem like a compromise to have the heat generated from the inverted CPU flowing over the rest of the board before it can dissipate into the case.
Nah.. its 20 times harder to route the board with the components on the same side as the A1200 mainboard. I think thats why its been done that way.

I asked @ChuckyGang which side to go with before starting and the top was 100% the answer he gave me.

EDIT: I spent most of the route grumbling to myself about the side choice.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by terriblefire » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:10 pm

Ok so I should probably just say I have built the board and it works although it has some reset issues.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3621
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by PhilC » Fri Dec 06, 2019 1:19 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:10 pm
Ok so I should probably just say I have built the board and it works although it has some reset issues.
Nothing you aren't capable of sorting out, of that I am sure.

Any chance of a photo of the board assembled?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by supaduper » Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:13 pm

I don`t think Steve will mind sharing a couple of pics as I building one with him too,just waiting on a component.
Attachments
TF1260 bottom.jpg
TF1260 bottom.jpg (191.62 KiB) Viewed 1396 times
TF1260 Top.jpg
TF1260 Top.jpg (245.07 KiB) Viewed 1396 times

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3621
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by PhilC » Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:47 pm

Thanks for sharing. Looks like a reasonably easy board to assemble too.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

chucky
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by chucky » Fri Dec 06, 2019 4:59 pm

DAMN YOU POSTNORD!. DAMN YOU!

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by terriblefire » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:11 pm

just thought it would be fun to reply to this topic on an A1200 running a TF1260. :)
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 613
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF1260 appears on my doormat

Post by alenppc » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:28 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:11 pm
just thought it would be fun to reply to this topic on an A1200 running a TF1260. :)
Does that mean you got the PCMCIA working then?

Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”