Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Post Reply
oggie
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 12:21 am

Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by oggie » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:11 pm

I can't seem to find any 68030 sockets. I found one seller on ebay and it's like $12USD for 2. Is that about my only option?

I should also ask about the 68060 sockets at some point since the 1260 and 360 are on the horizon.

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by alenppc » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:14 pm

oggie wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:11 pm
I can't seem to find any 68030 sockets. I found one seller on ebay and it's like $12USD for 2. Is that about my only option?

I should also ask about the 68060 sockets at some point since the 1260 and 360 are on the horizon.
Yes, ebay is the only source (ic-china seller).

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:57 pm

I make my own.
I just use turned pin single row headers and use an original socket as a jig.
Works out really cheap and I can make one up in 5 mins flat and never had a single problem.

IMG_20200122_140529.jpg
IMG_20200122_140529.jpg (93.48 KiB) Viewed 475 times

dalek
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:03 am

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by dalek » Thu Jan 23, 2020 12:32 am

I'd always used those chinabay sockets, but waiting on my 536 to arrive I wasn't going to wait several weeks for another 030 socket to arrive.

So I did the same as PaulJ_2.0 - using high quality SIL strips from a large supplier (not chinabay). It seems like a nice tight fit for the CPU and I now know the quality.

The only difference to the procedure above, was to use an old blank 530 PCB to build the SIL strips in to since I didn't have a socket handy for a template. Then install the CPU before soldering so all the pins line up nicely. It works just as well, placing the strips lengthways in a line (so you don't have to cut single pins - only ever rows of 3+).

Lynxman
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 8:09 pm

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by Lynxman » Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:03 am

Beware that cheap headers might have one or two sockets that don't have any grip in them, leaving that CPU pin floating inside. I recommend checking every single socket on a strip to see that they actually grip the pin before soldering them on.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1851
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by terriblefire » Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:24 am

oggie wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:11 pm
I can't seem to find any 68030 sockets. I found one seller on ebay and it's like $12USD for 2. Is that about my only option?

I should also ask about the 68060 sockets at some point since the 1260 and 360 are on the horizon.
Is that really that expensive? I've been buying these since 2016 and dont think its unreasonable. I'm just happy that i can get them at all.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:12 am

Lynxman wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:03 am
Beware that cheap headers might have one or two sockets that don't have any grip in them, leaving that CPU pin floating inside. I recommend checking every single socket on a strip to see that they actually grip the pin before soldering them on.
I've never had an issue. I suppose there are different headers with different tolerances, but I wouldn't use ones that didn't need a firm push for the CPU to seat.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9338
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by exxos » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:18 am

If anyone has some part numbers for the sockets, i can check my suppliers for them.

EDIT:

Like the ones on evilbay, I can get those types, but are going to be about £5.50 anyway. I don't think there is going to be a cheap source of these anywhere now.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Lynxman
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 8:09 pm

Re: Where are you guys getting your 68030 sockets?

Post by Lynxman » Thu Feb 13, 2020 5:26 pm

I bought a lot of turn pin header strips and most of them had one socket that was too loose. The 030 turnpin arrays I have are great though, with no bad sockets.

Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”