Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

matt020
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by matt020 » Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:31 am

For Windows, use software "NodeMCU" to flash the ESP8266
There are videos on YouTube on how to do it.

That will flash the ESP, but now you need to telnet in on port 7777 to the ESP8266 to set wifi SSID and wifi password to suit your network. I haven't received my ESP8266 so I haven't got that far yet......

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by terriblefire » Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:34 am

matt020 wrote:
Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:31 am
That will flash the ESP, but now you need to telnet in on port 7777 to the ESP8266 to set wifi SSID and wifi password to suit your network. I haven't received my ESP8266 so I haven't got that far yet......
There doesnt appear to be a way to slattach via windows. At least that i know of .
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by kulamario » Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:38 am

I download Ubuntu
Can I do everything from usb stick or I must install Ubuntu?
What I should to do next ?
Please help me
Like I said I never use linux

20200417_104146.jpg
20200417_104146.jpg (156.36 KiB) Viewed 831 times

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by terriblefire » Fri Apr 17, 2020 11:15 am

kulamario wrote:
Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:38 am
I download Ubuntu
Can I do everything from usb stick or I must install Ubuntu?
What I should to do next ?
Please help me
Like I said I never use linux
try ...

Code: Select all

sudo slattach
if not installed try

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install net-tools
sudo slattach
Plug the esp with the firmware into a usb port...

Code: Select all

sudo dmesg
it will list towards the end which is the name of the serial port. it will be like /dev/ttyUSB0 etc.

then follow the guide.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by kulamario » Fri Apr 17, 2020 2:19 pm

I get some error

20200417_141646.jpg
20200417_141646.jpg (238 KiB) Viewed 813 times

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by terriblefire » Fri Apr 17, 2020 3:07 pm

kulamario wrote:
Fri Apr 17, 2020 2:19 pm
I get some error
Do what it says then.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by kulamario » Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:11 pm

I found solution
Just write

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --configure -a

I install all of this

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install net-tools

Code: Select all

sudo sudo dmesg
Then start do this

Code: Select all

sudo slattach -L -p slip -s 115200 /dev/ttyUSB0&
And after this

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig sl0 192.168.240.2 pointopoint 192.168.240.1 up mtu 1500
is some error like on picture

20200417_161225.jpg
20200417_161225.jpg (310.76 KiB) Viewed 796 times

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by terriblefire » Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:33 pm

let me google...

type sudo ifconfig -a
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

dalek
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:03 am
Location: NSW Australia

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by dalek » Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:38 pm

You wrote s10 not sl0.

Letter 'l' not number '1'. sl0 stands for 'slip interface 0'

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Module ESP8266 without TF on Amiga

Post by kulamario » Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:50 pm

Ok done but dnt know what is going on
After CMD>reset
Nothing happened just start blink LED on esp8266 few times
And now blink every maybe 2-3 minutes
In terminal is still like on picture

20200417_164710.jpg
20200417_164710.jpg (282.54 KiB) Viewed 783 times

I check on my router what devices is connect
I have ESP_07CF0D_Wireless

What I should to do next ?

Locked

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”