The TF1200 Design Complete

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

The TF1200 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:42 pm

Has anyone ever thought how much fun it would be to put a plain 68000 in an amiga 1200?
Screenshot 2021-05-06 at 15.17.03.png
Screenshot 2021-05-06 at 15.17.03.png (415.08 KiB) Viewed 623 times
Basically a really simple card with 8Mb SDRAM on it and the extra IDE interface. It will also scale up the bus from 16 to 32 bits.

No i've not lost the plot there is a serious method to my madness :D.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

User avatar
Steve
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by Steve » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:45 pm

Well yeah actually sounds quite reasonable, like the Furia a600 accelerator the 68000 can be overclocked to some crazy heights and the performance is quite good. I wonder if AGA games need 030 specific instructions or cache.
Edit: I just noticed your using the DIP 68k, I don't think they can clock as much... Ok maybe you are insane!!! :D
Repairs & Servicing for Atari & Amiga machines (and any other retro computers) Located in the West Midlands UK. PM me if you require assistance.
www.solidstatesociety.co.uk

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by terriblefire » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:48 pm

Steve wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:45 pm
Well yeah actually sounds quite reasonable, like the Furia a600 accelerator the 68000 can be overclocked to some crazy heights and the performance is quite good. I wonder if AGA games need 030 specific instructions or cache.
Edit: I just noticed your using the DIP 68k, I don't think they can clock as much... Ok maybe you are insane!!! :D
The device that will go in here will not have a problem with clockspeed... at all...
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

chucky
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by chucky » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:48 pm

You need to take your meds....

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by kludge » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:49 pm

Yeah, madness is the word :D
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
JezC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1013
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by JezC » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:50 pm

Is it that new Buffee board maybe?

User avatar
Steve
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by Steve » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:52 pm

JezC wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:50 pm
Is it that new Buffee board maybe?
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!
Repairs & Servicing for Atari & Amiga machines (and any other retro computers) Located in the West Midlands UK. PM me if you require assistance.
www.solidstatesociety.co.uk

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4106
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by PhilC » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:57 pm

Certifiable but hey, do it! :lol:
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by terriblefire » Tue Apr 27, 2021 10:05 pm

JezC wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:50 pm
Is it that new Buffee board maybe?
I can neither confirm or deny ...
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

go0se
Posts: 291
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: The TF1200 Design Underway (I must be insane)

Post by go0se » Tue Apr 27, 2021 11:40 pm

This should be interesting ... :)

Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”