Firmware Optimizing

TF520 - 68020 Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

tuxie
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Tue Nov 24, 2020 9:13 am

Hello,

now i have running a TF520 that i got,
But it runs very poor and very slow on Atari, i got it running with 16Mhz deliverd by the Shifter.

But its a nice piece of hardware and terriblefire did a lot of work with it, so why pushing away ?

So my question, is someone interested to optimize the Firmware for the TF520 to get it running better on the Atari ST ?
We could use the open GAL Listings from the PAK2 Port it to VHDL. But i havent the skills for it. So maybe someone is interested.
Regards

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13787
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:17 am

I don't think the TF520 was ever intended to run on the Atari. There have been a lot of changes since the 520 as it was only a stepping stone board. There are a lot of changes to the physical hardware not just a firmware update. If it was that simple to do, then it would have been pointless @terriblefire developing future boards. Happy to be proven wrong, but that's what I understand.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
chue
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:46 pm
Location: United States

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by chue » Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:41 pm

Most of the speed gain comes from running software in accelerator ram. Since the 520 doesn’t have any accelerator ram, firmware changes likely won’t speed it up much.

As exxos pointed out, the 520 was just a stepping stone. The 530 was the board that added accelerator ram.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:05 pm

Yet Stephen has backported TF534 Firmware to TF520, this allowed me to run this card @32MHz..
It was necessary to replace all resistors to 1-2k to be able to run that firmware.
Not sure wich one do You have atm...
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... tested.zip

Regards,

-V
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

tuxie
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:45 pm

chue wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:41 pm
Most of the speed gain comes from running software in accelerator ram. Since the 520 doesn’t have any accelerator ram, firmware changes likely won’t speed it up much.

As exxos pointed out, the 520 was just a stepping stone. The 530 was the board that added accelerator ram.
Pak2 has no Fastram, 2nd LVL Cache! Just onboard 32bit ROM, what of course increase the performance, but TF520 is much slower then original ST

tuxie
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:47 pm

8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:05 pm
Yet Stephen has backported TF534 Firmware to TF520, this allowed me to run this card @32MHz..
It was necessary to replace all resistors to 1-2k to be able to run that firmware.
Not sure wich one do You have atm...
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... tested.zip

Regards,

-V
I will give it a try!! And post a feedback

tuxie
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Tue Nov 24, 2020 9:01 pm

Its running with 16Mhz, what resistors did you changed to get it working with 32Mhz ?

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:08 pm

All of them.
Have swapped all resistors to 2k
Also oscillator need to be swapped too..
Please keep in mind that CPU You are using need to support such frequency 💡
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

tuxie
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:19 am

8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:08 pm
All of them.
Have swapped all resistors to 2k
Also oscillator need to be swapped too..
Please keep in mind that CPU You are using need to support such frequency 💡
So you mean you changed the Resistors on the Atari Mainboard, the resistor arrays for address, data and control lines ?

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:54 am

No no no, i mean resistors on TF520 itself,
On initial build these was marked as 10k, but latest firmware will not work with these values, so these need to be swapped out to 1k or 2k
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

Post Reply

Return to “TF520 (OBSOLETE)”